ICL: Indian Cricket League

Zimbabwe seal series triumph over Bangladesh


Gregory Strydom scored his maiden half-century to guide Zimbabwe to a series-clinching win over Bangladesh in the fourth One-day International (ODI) here on Friday.

Disciplined bowling helped Zimbabwe restrict Bangladesh, who won the toss and chose to bat, to a mediocre total of 206.

In reply, the home side scored 212 for three in 41.4 overs to cruise to victory by seven wickets. The result gave Zimbabwe an unbeatable 3-1 lead in the five-match series, which ends in Harare on Sunday.

Strydom, who hit a lusty 58 off as many balls with eight fours and a six, began his assault in the 13th over after Vusi Sibanda and Terrence Duffin had launched Zimbabwe’s reply with an opening stand of 57.

Fast bowler Farhad Reza bowled Sibanda off the edge of his bat for 46 in the 22nd over, which brought Hamilton Masakadza to the crease to share 66 runs for the third wicket with Strydom. The partnership was halted when Masakadza, on 19, retired hurt with a nosebleed.

Strydom was dismissed five balls later by left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak when he sent a leading edge looping to midwicket, where Mohammad Ashraful took the catch. Stuart Matsikenyeri and Brendan Taylor completed the job for Zimbabwe with a brisk stand of 53.

Shahriar Nafees top-scored for Bangladesh with 45, and their only substantial partnership was the 52 runs that Shahriar and Aftab Ahmed shared for the second wicket.

Off-spinner Prosper Utseya tied the visitors down and took two for 25, while leg-spinner Masakadza was less accurate but also effective for his return of two for 36.


Bangladesh won toss


Rajin Saleh c M’kenyeri b Rainsford 11

Shahriar Nafees b Masakadza 45

Aftab Ahmed c Utseya b Masakadza 27

Mohammad Ashraful run out (Duffin/Taylor) 6

Alok Kapali c Sibanda b Utseya 10

Farhad Reza run out (Utseya/M’kenyeri) 30

*†Khaled Mashud c Rainsford b Ireland 20

Mohammad Rafique c Sibanda b Utseya 0

Mashrafe Mortaza b Rainsford 23

Abdur Razzak not out 3

Shahadat Hossain not out 5

Extras (b1, lb4, w19, nb2) 26

Total (9 wkts, 50 overs) 206

Fall: 1-21, 2-73, 3-82, 4-102, 5-137, 6-157, 7-160, 8-190, 9-197

Bowling: Rainsford 10-1-46-2 (1nb, 7w); Ireland 9-1-37-1 (1nb, 2w); Mahwire 5-0-30-0 (1w); Strydom 1-0-9-0 (3w); Masakadza 10-1-36-2 (1w); Utseya 10-0-25-2; Matsikenyeri 5-0-18-0 (1w)


T Duffin c Mashud b Rafique 24

V Sibanda b Farhad 46

G M Strydom c Ashraful b Razzak 58

H Masakadza retired hurt 19

S Matsikenyeri not out 26

†B R M Taylor not out 27

Extras (lb6, w5, nb1) 12

Total (3 wkts, 41.4 overs) 212

Did not bat: E Chigumbura, *P Utseya, N B Mahwire, E C Rainsford, A J Ireland

Fall: 1-57, 2-91, 3-159

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 6-0-24-0 (1w); Shahadat Hossain 5-0-44-0 (1nb, 1w); Abdur Razzak 10-0-42-1 (2w); Mohammad Rafique 10-3-30-1 (1w); Farhad Reza 4-0-19-1; Alok Kapali 3.4-0-30-0; Rajin Saleh 3-0-17-0

Result: Zimbabwe won by 7 wickets

Series: Zimbabwe leads the 5-ODI series 3-1

Man of the Match: Prosper Utseya

Umpires: I L Howell (South Africa) and R B Tiffin. TV umpire: I D Robinson. Match referee: M J Procter (South Africa)

Note: H Masakadza (19*) retired hurt at 157-2 (30.4 overs)

Previous matches: July 29 1st ODI Harare, Zimbabwe won by 2 wickets. July 30 2nd ODI Harare, Bangladesh won by 63 runs. August 2 3rd ODI Harare, Zimbabwe won by 2 wickets

Fifth & final ODI: Sunday (tomorrow), Harare

Source:The News

More on:, ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Sunday, August 6th, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Demonstrations at Israel cricket match in Glasgow »
Next Post: Five-wicket Muralitharan baulks South Africa on day one »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.