Yuvraj, Ganguly power India to ODI series win

Yuvraj Singh and Sourav Ganguly smashed unbeaten half centuries on Saturday as India beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets to clinch the four-match One-day International (ODI) series in both team’s last match before the Cricket World Cup (CWC).

Yuvraj (95 not out) and Ganguly (58 not out) put on 145 runs for the fourth wicket off 143 balls to race India to the victory target of 260 runs with six overs to spare.

Such was Yuvraj’s dominance that he plundered 22 runs, including four boundaries and one six, in Farveez Maharoof’s last over to finish the match.

Yuvraj’s innings, studded with 11 boundaries and three sixes, marked his return to form after his three-month absence with a knee injury.

Ganguly opened the Indian innings, but left the field after playing two balls complaining of cramps in his thigh. He resumed batting at the fall of India’s second wicket and clobbered three sixes and three fours to the delight of 30,000-strong Andhra Cricket Stadium crowd.

The teams entered Saturday’s match level at 1-1 after Sri Lanka won the second match at Rajkot and India romping home in the third game at Margao. The opening game in Calcutta was abandoned after heavy showers disrupted play.

Umpires Simon Taufel and Ameesh Saheba ordered a delayed start on Saturday because of a wet outfield caused by overnight dew in this southern Indian coastal city, reducing the game to 47 overs per side.

Early movement of the ball and some poor shot selection brought the downfall of key Sri Lankan batsmen when they were asked to bat first by India after winning the toss. The wicket was more playable by the time India came out to bat.

Chamara Silva compiled a determined maiden limited overs century to help Sri Lanka recover to 259-7. After coming in with Sri Lanka at 53-3, Silva (107 not out) steered his side from a dismal position 125-5 with a 68-run fifth-wicket with Tillekaratne Dilshan (28) and a 64-run partnership for the seventh wicket with Farveez Maharoof (28).

Chamara’s knock, featuring 12 boundaries and one six, raised Sri Lanka’s hopes of posting a challenging target.

The openers started well reaching 42 without loss in six overs with irrepressible Sanath Jayasuriya going after the Indian bowling.

He hit paceman Zaheer Khan over his head for a boundary and then pulled him over square leg for a six in the same over. Showing little patience, Jayasuriya (22) played a swinging ball from pace bowler Ajit Agarkar uppishly, straight to Ganguly in the cover region.

Sri Lanka slumped to 56-4 in the space of 27 deliveries, losing captain Mahela Jayawardene for seven, Kumara Sangakkara for one and Marvan Atapattu for 19.

Chamara was particularly severe on India’s off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, clobbering him for a four, six and another boundary on successive deliveries. Harbhajan’s third over cost him 17 runs.

India won toss

Sri Lanka

M S Atapattu b Sreesanth 19

S T Jayasuriya c Ganguly b Agarkar 22

*D P M D Jayawardene c Uthappa b Agarkar 7

†K C Sangakkara c Uthappa b Khan 1

L P C Silva not out 107

T M Dilshan c Uthappa b Ganguly 28

R P Arnold c Sreesanth b Sehwag 22

M F Maharoof c Karthik b Khan 28

C M Bandara not out 5

Extras (b1, lb2, w14, nb3) 20

Total (7 wkts, 47 overs) 259

Did not bat: S L Malinga, C R D Fernando

Fall: 1-42, 2-50, 3-52, 4-56, 5-124, 6-165, 7-229

Bowling: Khan 10-2-54-2 (1nb, 1w); Agarkar 10-1-52-2 (3w); Sreesanth 8-1-46-1 (2nb); Harbhajan Singh 9-0-48-0 (2w); Ganguly 6-0-29-1 (1w); Sehwag 4-0-27-1 (3w)


V Sehwag run out (Bandara/S’kkara) 46

S C Ganguly not out 58

A R Uthappa c J’suriya b Maharoof 52

K D Karthik c & b Fernando 1

Yuvraj Singh not out 95

Extras (lb2, w8, nb1) 11

Total (3 wkts, 41 overs) 263

Did not bat: *R Dravid, †M S Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, A B Agarkar, Z Khan, S Sreesanth

Fall: 1-92, 2-106, 3-118

Bowling: Maharoof 6-0-60-1 (1nb, 5w); Malinga 9-1-54-0 (2w); Fernando 9-1-56-1; Bandara 4-0-37-0; Dilshan 9-0-34-0 (1w); Jayasuriya 2-0-10-0; Arnold 2-0-10-0

Result: India won by 7 wickets

Series: India won the 4-match series 2-1

Man of the Match: Chamara Silva

Player of the Series: Sourav Ganguly

Umpires: A M Saheba and S J A Taufel (Australia). TV umpire: S L Shastri. Match referee: A G Hurst (Australia)

Previous matches: February 8 1st ODI Kolkata (d/n), no result. February 11 2nd ODI Rajkot, Sri Lanka won by 5 runs. February 14 3rd ODI Margao. India won by 5 wickets

Source:The News

More on:, , , ,

Written by Team CricketViewer on February 18th, 2007 with 76 Views

 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...
     no comments.
Read more articles on General.

Related articles

No comments

There are still no comments on this article.

Leave your comment...

If you want to leave your comment on this article, simply fill out the next form:

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong> .