ICL: Indian Cricket League

Vaas back for Tests, but not ODIs


vaasChaminda Vaas’s exclusion from Sri Lanka’s one-day squad is the only surprise in the 15-man parties announced by the selectors for their upcoming tour of Bangladesh. Sanath Jayasuriya, rested for the recent Zimbabwe ODIs, returns to the one-day set-up while Farveez Maharoof and Dilhara Fernando, part of the Zimbabwe tour party, make the Test squad after missing the team’s last Test series, at home against India, due to injuries.

Vaas, however, has been included in the squad for the two-Test series. There is also no limited-overs recall for Tillakaratne Dilshan, who was dropped for the five ODIs in Zimbabwe, but he retains his Test spot.

Sri Lanka will play two Tests and a tri-nation tournament, also involving Zimbabwe, in Bangladesh. The tour begins with a three-day warm-up game on December 21, followed by the Tests.

Jayasuriya’s return, in place of Mahela Udawatte, will be a handy boost for Sri Lanka, who surprisingly struggled in Zimbabwe. Openers Upul Tharanga and Udawatte both averaged below 20, and Mahela Jayawardene, the Sri Lankan captain, opened in the final game instead of Udawatte, who scored 60 in four innings. Jayawardene too did not have a great time in Zimbabwe, with 19 runs in four innings, including two ducks.

Nuwan Kulasekara, whose three late strikes denied Zimbabwe a win in the fifth ODI, keeps his ODI spot but is replaced by Fernando in the Test squad. Newcomers Angelo Mathews, an allrounder, and batsman Thilina Kandamby have been retained in the ODI squad. Both teams have five fast bowlers, with Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis the two spinners.

Sri Lanka Cricket also announced a new manager for the tour. Continuing with the policy of having different managers for tours, Nishantha Ranatunga, who went to Canada and Zimbabwe, has been replaced by Jayantha Paranathala, a former Sri Lanka cricketer and manager who’s now a policeman.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Malinda Warnapura, Michael Vandort, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Thilan Samaraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Chaminda Vaas, Muthiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Dammika Prasad, Chamara Kapugedera, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando, Thilan Thushara.

ODI squad: Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Chamara Kapugedera, Jehan Mubarak, Thilina Kandamby, Muthiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Nuwan Kulasekera, Farveez Maharoof, Dammika Prasad, Thilan Thushara, Angelo Mathews.

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Friday, December 5th, 2008 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Ponting says Australia will still be No. 1 next year »
Next Post: PCB brings in British expert to fix insurance problem »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.