ICL: Indian Cricket League

Tendulkar opts out of Afro-Asian Cup


tenduSachin Tendulkar has opted out of the Afro-Asian Cup starting on June 6. He will be replaced by Sourav Ganguly in the 14-member squad. Zaheer Khan has also been included in the revised squad, joining Dilhara Fernando and Mashrafe Mortaza as the replacements for Shoaib Akhtar, Chaminda Vaas and Lasith Malinga.

“Following the unavailability of some players named in the original squads on May 11, the selectors have named their final squads for the three One-day International (ODI) matches in Bangalore and Chennai on June 6, 9 and 10 and the Twenty20 match on June 5,” a statement clarified.

Sreesanth, who had to opt out of the Bangladesh tour due to injury, makes his return to international cricket after being named as Munaf Patel’s replacement in the 11-member Twenty20 team. The Twenty20 match will be played in Bangalore on June 5, and will be followed by three ODIs — on June 6 in Bangalore, and on June 9 and 10 in Chennai.

Asia ODI squad: Sanath Jayasuriya, Virender Sehwag, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Sourav Ganguly, Mohammad Yousuf, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Dilhara Fernando, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Rafique, Mohammad Asif.

Asia Twenty20 team: Tamim Iqbal, Imran Nazir, Mohammad Ashraful, Shoaib Malik (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal (wicket-keeper), Farveez Maharoof, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Sreesanth.

Source:The News

More on:, , , , , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 and is filed under Cricket.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Donald given England consultancy role »
Next Post: Big field line up for Pakistan coaching job »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.