ICL: Indian Cricket League

Ten more players join IPL


Ten more players have joined the roster of the Indian Premier League (IPL), according to the Indian board.

The players to come on board for the proposed Twenty20 tournament include Graeme Smith, the South African captain, and Daniel Vettori, the New Zealand captain. Four other South African players have joined along with Smith, including Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Ashwell Prince and Albie Morkel. The remaining players are Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Justin Langer, Scott Styris and Chaminda Vaas, now the ninth Sri Lankan player in the IPL, with eight of his team-mates having signed earlier.

A pool of 22 players is now available for the various franchises to choose from, with the likes of Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Mohammad Yousuf and Stephen Fleming among them. Shoaib Akhtar, the Pakistan fast bowler, has also been approached, and is awaiting permission from the Pakistan Cricket Board to sign the contract.

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Wednesday, October 10th, 2007 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Muralitharan ruled out of fourth ODI »
Next Post: Shoaib Akhtar vs Shahid Afridi »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.