IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Switch Hit Becomes Legal

Written by Commoner on June 19th, 2008   (467 views)

Kevin Pietersen of England won his team the opening One Day International (ODI) match against the New Zealand when he hit two sixes in a extraordinary fashion at the Riverside couple of days ago. Kevin Pietersen, who effectively became a left rather than right-handed batsman when using the shot to twice hit New Zealand’s Scott Styris for six during an unbeaten century.

After his revolutionary switch hits, a new debate started vociferously among the cricketing law makers throughout the world, and commentors, self-acclaimed experts and gurus started giving their own versions and their own specifications followed by their verdicts on this new version of the shot played by the stylish Kevin Pietersen
According to the media reports, Kevin Pietersen will be allowed to carry on playing his extraordinary ‘reverse slog-sweep’ after MCC, cricket’s rule-makers, announced they would not be outlawing the ‘switch-hit’. “MCC believes that the ‘switch-hit’ stroke is exciting for the game of cricket,” said a statement issued by MCC following a meeting at it’s Lord’s headquarters in London on Tuesday.

This will be surely another blow to the bowlers of the world cricket, who are already wary of the immense liberty given to the batsmen.

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Capture the Conversation tells you what people are saying right now!

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now View Comments or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 19th, 2008 and is filed under General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: »
Next Post: »

Read More

Related Reading:

    blog comments powered by Disqus