ICL: Indian Cricket League

Sri Lanka beat Black Caps by 189 runs


New Zealand crashed to their worst ever one-day loss on Saturday in a humiliating 189-run defeat conjured by some magic from Sri Lankan veterans Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas.

New Zealand could only muster 73 runs — their second lowest ever one-day total — in what skipper Stephen Fleming conceded was a “rubbish” performance in chasing the tourists’ solid 262-6.

A whirlwind 70 off 44 balls by 37-year-old opener Jayasuriya provided the fireworks in the Sri Lankan innings.

Another important contribution came from the side’s most consistent batsman Kumar Sangakkara, who held the Sri Lankan innings together with 79 from 103 balls after it threatened to go off the rails with the fall of three quick wickets.

In reply, New Zealand had no answer to a great spell of in-swing bowling from 32-year-old Vaas. He trapped New Zealand skipper Stephen Fleming (0), Ross Taylor (0) and Hamish Marshall (3) in successive overs to finish with 3-10 from eight overs.

Speedster Lasith Malinga was also devastating, taking 3-14 from eight overs and master spinner Muttiah Muralitharan had 2-7 from his 2.3 overs at the tail of the innings.

The victory leaves the series tied at 2-2 with one match left to play on Tuesday.

New Zealand’s longstanding batting weaknesses were again cruelly exposed with the World Cup only two months away.

He said the team was “pretty alarmed” by the performance and their recent history of failing to score runs in the top and middle of the batting order.

New Zealand were in trouble right from the start as wickets tumbled against Vaas. Sangakkara also took a spectacular wrongfooted catch to dismiss opener Brendon McCallum off Farveez Maharoof and by the 7th over New Zealand’s innings was already close to beyond repair at 25-4.

Batsman Craig McMillan, playing at the top level for only the second time in the last year, was the only New Zealand batsman to show significant resistance with an undefeated 29.

Jayasuriya brought the crowd alive earlier when in the space of 13 balls the veteran belied his age to pummel 43 runs in an extraordinary series of on-drives and pull shots. His innings included seven fours and five sixes. He smashed three consecutive sixes off Michael Mason in the 11th over and another off the first ball of the next over from Mark Gillespie to score four sixes off five consecutive balls faced.

Gillespie brought the run feast to an end when Jayasuriya miscued him to fine leg in the 16th over. Another two quick wickets from Gillespie left Sri Lanka needing to rebuild which Sangakkara and Marvan Atapattu (34) patiently set about doing with a 91 run partnership.

For New Zealand, Gillespie was the most successful bowler with 3-39 off his 10 overs.


Sri Lanka won toss

Sri Lanka

W U Tharanga b Gillespie 22

S T Jayasuriya c Mason b Gillespie 70

*D P M D Jayawardene c Fleming b Gillespie 0

†K C Sangakkara c Taylor b Bond 79

M S Atapattu c McCullum b Adams 34

C K Kapugedera not out 10

M F Maharoof c Adams b Bond 21

W P U J C Vaas not out 5

Extras (lb11, w6, nb4) 21

Total (6 wkts, 50 overs) 262

Did not bat: C R D Fernando, M Muralitharan, S L Malinga

Fall: 1-102, 2-102, 3-103, 4-194, 5-232, 6-256

Bowling: Mason 10-1-62-0 (3w); Bond 10-2-47-2 (2nb, 2w); Gillespie 10-1-39-3 (2nb); Adams 9-2-53-1; Patel 9-0-41-0 (1w); McMillan 2-0-9-0

New Zealand

†B B McCullum c S’kkara b Maharoof 17

*S P Fleming lbw b Vaas 0

R L Taylor lbw b Vaas 0

P G Fulton lbw b Malinga 9

H J H Marshall lbw b Vaas 3

C D McMillan not out 29

A R Adams lbw b Malinga 1

S E Bond c & b Malinga 2

M R Gillespie c S’kkara b Fernando 0

J S Patel b Muralitharan 6

M J Mason lbw b Muralitharan 1

Extras (lb2, w1, nb2) 5

Total (all out, 26.3 overs) 73

Fall: 1-5, 2-17, 3-17, 4-25, 5-37, 6-39, 7-49, 8-54, 9-71

Bowling: Vaas 8-3-10-3; Malinga 8-3-14-3; Maharoof 4-0-27-1 (1nb, 1w); Fernando 4-1-13-1 (1nb); Muralitharan 2.3-0-7-2

Result: Sri Lanka won by 189 runs

Series: 5-match series level 2-2

Man of the Match: Sanath Jayasuriya

Umpires: G A Baxter and S J Davis (Australia). TV umpire: A L Hill. Match referee: J Srinath (India)

Previous matches: December 28 1st ODI Napier, Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets. December 31 2nd ODI Queenstown, New Zealand won by one wicket. January 2 3rd ODI Christchurch, New Zealand won by 4 wickets (D/L Method)

Fifth & final ODI: January 9 (Tuesday), Hamilton (d/n)

Source:The News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Hafeez, Farhat score centuries in tour opener »
Next Post: Waqar Younis quits as Pakistan bowling coach »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.