ICL: Indian Cricket League

Sri Lanka, Australia to fight for Warne-Murali Trophy


Next month’s two-Test cricket series between Australia and Sri Lanka is expected to be fought for a trophy named after spin rivals Shane Warne and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Sri Lanka Cricket said they had written to Cricket Australia suggesting that the winner of the two-Test series, opening in Brisbane on November 8, be awarded the Warne-Murali Trophy. “We have sent our proposals and have got a very good response,” SLC secretary Kangadaran Mathivanan told reporters.

Cricket Australia public affairs manager Peter Young said the trophy should be finalised by the conclusion of next month’s two-match series which will mark the 25th anniversary of Tests between the countries.

“There have been discussions between Australia and Sri Lanka for two or three years about introducing a perpetual trophy of the Border-Gavaskar type,” Young said in Melbourne on Wednesday.

Muralitharan is just nine wickets away from surpassing the retired Warne’s world record of 708 Test wickets. The Warne-Murali Trophy will become the latest series named after famous players.

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Thursday, November 1st, 2007 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Janitor saw Woolmer with bundle of notes in dressing room »
Next Post: Hypocritical Fletcher should be ashamed - Boycott »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.