ICL: Indian Cricket League

Shahadat hat-trick fails to stop Zimbabwe win


Shahadat Hossain took Bangladesh’s first One-day International (ODI) hat-trick but could not prevent a two-wicket defeat to Zimbabwe here on Wednesday.

Needing five runs to win off the final ball, Zimbabwe’s Brendan Taylor smashed a full toss from fast bowler Mashrafe Mortaza over the midwicket boundary for six to usher the home side to a dramatic victory. Bangladesh, who lost the toss and were put in to bat, were dismissed for 236 in 49 overs. Zimbabwe replied with 238 for eight to take a 2-1 lead in the five-match series.

Taylor watched Shahadat’s hat-trick in the 39th over unfold from the non-striker’s end as Zimbabwe crashed from 151-4 to 151-7, but he stood firm for an unbeaten 79 off 72 balls with six fours and three sixes.

Tafadzwa Mufambisi edged the third ball of the over to wicket-keeper Khaled Mashud for eight.

Shahadat’s next ball was full and straight, and it trapped Elton Chigumbura plumb in front. Prosper Utseya then edged a wide delivery into Mashud’s gloves.

The only other international hat-trick by a Bangladeshi was taken by leg-spinner Alok Kopali in the second Test against Pakistan in Peshawar in August 2003.

Tawanda Mupariwa scored a bright 33 to help Taylor rebuild the innings in an eighth-wicket stand of 81 that was ended with the penultimate ball of the match when Mupariwa fell and was run out by Mohammad Rafique.

For Bangladesh, Rajin Saleh scored a cautious 54, while an aggressive Aftab Ahmed needed just 39 balls to smash his 53, which included seven fours and two sixes.

Saleh and Ahmed added 70 runs for the third wicket, and Mohammad Ashraful scored a brisk 46 in sharing a stand of 91 for the fourth wicket with Saleh.


Zimbabwe won toss


Javed Omar c sub (C J Chibhabha) b Mupariwa 6

Shahriar Nafees c Taylor b Mahwire 0

Rajin Saleh c Utseya b Masakadza 54

Aftab Ahmed b Ireland 53

Mohammad Ashraful c Taylor b Masakadza 46

Farhad Reza run out (Sibanda/Taylor) 15

*†Khaled Mashud run out (Masakadza/Mahwire) 11

Mohammad Rafique c Mupariwa b Ireland 0

Mashrafe Mortaza lbw b Ireland 2

Abdur Razzak not out 20

Shahadat Hossain st Taylor b Masakadza 1

Extras (lb1, w26, nb1) 28

Total (all out, 49 overs) 236

Fall: 1-4, 2-13, 3-83, 4-174, 5-179, 6-195, 7-198, 8-201, 9-224

Bowling: Mupariwa 9-0-60-1 (5w); Mahwire 9-0-53-1 (8w); Ireland 10-1-41-3 (1nb, 5w); Utseya 10-1-22-0; Matsikenyeri 3-0-20-0 (3w); Masakadza 8-0-39-3(3w)


V Sibanda lbw b Razzak 14

T Duffin st Mashud b Saleh 48

H Masakadza c Aftab b Farhad 38

†B R M Taylor not out 79

S Matsikenyeri c Ashraful b Saleh 7

T V Mufambisi c Mashud b Shahadat 8

E Chigumbura lbw b Shahadat 0

*P Utseya c Khaled Mashud b Shahadat 0

T Mupariwa run out (Rafique/Mortaza) 33

N B Mahwire not out 0

Extras (lb4, w7) 11

Total (8 wkts, 50 overs) 238

Did not bat: A J Ireland

Fall: 1-30, 2-84, 3-121, 4-131, 5-151, 6-151, 7-151, 8-232

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 10-0-50-0 (2w); Shahadat Hossain 10-0-53-3 (3w); Abdur Razzak 10-1-34-1 (1w); Farhad Reza 7-1-31-1; Mohammad Rafique 10-0-48-0 (1w); Rajin Saleh 3-0-18-2

Result: Zimbabwe won by 2 wickets

Series: Zimbabwe leads the 5-ODI series 2-1

Man of the Match: Brendan Taylor

ODI debut: Tafadzwa Mufambisi (Zimbabwe)

Umpires: K C Barbour and I L Howell (South Africa). TV umpire: I D Robinson. Match referee: M J Procter (South Africa)

Previous matches: July 29 1st ODI Harare, Zimbabwe won by 2 wickets. July 30 2nd ODI Harare, Bangladesh won by 63 runs

Remaining matches: Friday (tomorrow) 4th ODI, Harare. August 6 5th ODI, Harare
Source:The News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Pietersen expects Monty Panesar to be a star »
Next Post: Pietersen prepared to get back in runs against Pakistan »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.