ICL: Indian Cricket League

Ricky Ponting clean sweeps national awards


Australian Ricky Ponting capped the finest 12 months of his career with a clean sweep of the major awards at the Allan Border Medal count here on Monday.

Ponting won his third Allan Border Medal, which recognises Australia’s best player over the previous 12 months, and also won the Test Player of the Year and one-day Player of the Year.

Ponting, who had also won the top award in 2004 and 2006, is the first player to win the Allan Border Medal three times. He also became the first player to claim all three awards — which are voted for by players, media and umpires — in one year.

Having produced the best form of his career in both Test and one-day cricket, Ponting was a clear winner in the top award, polling 107 votes, with Mike Hussey second on 58 and recently retired leg-spinner Shane Warne third.

Ponting scored 1,115 Test runs during the voting period, including five centuries. He also scored 968 one-day runs at 48.40, with four centuries, and led both Australian sides in fine style.

“To win all three awards tonight has blown me away,” Ponting said. “I knew I’d had a good Test year, I thought my one-day season had been very up and down, but if you get enough man-of-the-match awards I guess you’re going to poll a few votes,” he explained.

“It’s a great honour to win an Allan Border Medal, but to win three is pretty special,” he expressed. In the Test count, Ponting polled 12 votes in the 10 eligible matches during the voting period to edge out Warne (10), while paceman Stuart Clark was third on six votes.

The limited-overs award came down to the final game. Ponting’s century in Sunday’s win over New Zealand proved pivotal as he snatched the One-day Player of the Year by two votes. Injured all-rounder Andrew Symonds, with 713 one-day runs at 50.93, led by one vote before Sunday’s game, but Ponting’s 104 got him maximum votes and allowed him to overtake the Queenslander.

Ponting finished on 20, Symonds on 18 and batsman Michael Clarke was third on 16, while last year’s winner, Hussey, was fourth. West Australian opener Chris Rogers was a runaway winner in the State Player of the Year, while recent One-day International (ODI) debutant Ben Hilfenhaus was named the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year.
Source:The News

More on:, ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Tuesday, February 6th, 2007 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Kenya crush Canada to book final place in WCL »
Next Post: One-day series in South Africa: What planning? »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.