ICL: Indian Cricket League

Razzak helps BD clinch one-day series


Abdur_Razzak_Bangladesh.jpgAbdur Razzak grabbed five wickets as Bangladesh whipped Zimbabwe by 26 runs in the third One-day International (ODI) here on Tuesday to gain an unbeatable 3-0 lead in the five-match series.

The left-arm spinner finished with a career-best haul of 5-33 as the hosts defended their modest total of 220 by dismissing Zimbabwe for 194.

Middle-order batsman Sean Williams slammed a career-best 68 for a second successive half-century, but his effort failed to stop Bangladesh from winning the day-night match.

Williams, who made 61 in the previous game, sustained Zimbabwe’s hopes when he put on 75 for the fifth wicket with Elton Chigumbura (31) and 58 for the next with Keith Dabengwa (31).

Razzak swung the match in Bangladesh’s favour when he bowled Dabengwa and then had Williams caught by substitute Farhad Reza in the closing stages, which saw Zimbabwe lose five wickets for 13 runs in the last four overs. He was named man-of-the-match for his maiden five-wicket haul.

Seamer Christopher Mpofu (4-42) and spinner Dabengwa (3-19) had earlier shared seven wickets to raise Zimbabwe’s hopes of posting a win.

Dabengwa, with just three wickets in seven one-dayers before this game, was brilliantly supported by off-spinner Prosper Utseya, who took 1-21 off 10 economical overs on a slow track.

Bangladesh raced to 64 in fewer than 10 overs after being put in to bat, thanks to left-handed Shahriar Nafees (35) and teenager Mehrab Hossain (38), who began with a flurry of boundaries.

Zimbabwe fought back through spinners Dabengwa, Utseya and Williams, who did not allow the Bangladeshi batsmen to score freely during their tight spells.

Mohammad Ashraful (36), Saqibul Hasan (26) and Mashrafe Mortaza (23 not out) were the other notable contributors.


Zimbabwe won toss


Shahriar Nafees c Brent b Chigumbura 35

Mehrab Hossain jnr b Mpofu 38

Aftab Ahmed c Rainsford b Utseya 16

Saqibul Hasan c Williams b Brent 26

*Habibul Bashar c Brent b Mpofu 3

Mohd Ashraful c Chibhabha b Dabengwa 36

†Khaled Mashud b Dabengwa 11

Mohammad Rafique c & b Dabengwa 3

Mashrafe Mortaza not out 23

Abdur Razzak c Taylor b Mpofu 5

Shahadat Hossain c Rainsford b Mpofu 5

Extras (b2, lb4, w9, nb4) 19

Total (all out, 49.2 overs) 220

Fall: 1-64, 2-85, 3-113, 4-123, 5-138, 6-169, 7-179, 8-184, 9-202

Bowling: Rainsford 6-0-51-0 (4nb, 2w); Mpofu 9.2-0-42-4 (4w); Brent 10-0-42-1; Chigumbura 1-0-4-1; Utseya 10-1-21-1; Williams 10-0-35-0; Dabengwa 3-0-19-3 (3w)


S Matsikenyeri b Razzak 24

†B R M Taylor b Shahadat 1

C J Chibhabha lbw b Razzak 10

H Masakadza c Saqibul b Shahadat 2

S C Williams c sub (Farhad Reza) b Razzak 68

E Chigumbura c Mashud b Mortaza 31

K M Dabengwa b Razzak 31

G B Brent not out 7

*P Utseya c Razzak b Mortaza 1

C B Mpofu b Mortaza 1

E C Rainsford lbw b Razzak 1

Extras (lb2, w10, nb5) 17

Total (all out, 49 overs) 194

Fall: 1-17, 2-40, 3-41, 4-48, 5-123, 6-181, 7-182, 8-185, 9-188

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 9-1-34-3 (1nb, 2w); Shahadat Hossain 10-1-42-2 (4nb, 4w); Abdur Razzak 10-2-33-5 (3w); Mohammad Rafique 10-0-43-0 (1w); Saqibul Hasan 10-0-40-0

Result: Bangladesh won by 26 runs

Series: Bangladesh lead the 5-match series 3-0

Man of the Match: Abdur Razzak

Umpires: Enamul Haque and S L Shastri (India). TV umpire: Ziaul Islam. Match referee: R S Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

Previous matches: November 30 Khulna, Bangladesh won by 9 wickets. December 3 Bogra (d/n), Bangladesh won by 6 wickets

Forthcoming matches: December 8 (Friday) 4th ODI, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur. December 9 5th ODI, Mirpur
Source:The News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Wednesday, December 6th, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: One of all-time great Test wins, hails Ponting »
Next Post: Aussies stun England to take 2-0 lead in Ashes »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.