ICL: Indian Cricket League

Pollock sets up South Africa win over Sri Lanka


pollockMedium-pacer Shaun Pollock took two early wickets as he set up South Africa’s 78-run victory over Sri Lanka in a low-scoring ICC Champions Trophy Group B match here on Tuesday.

Pollock dismissed Sanath Jayasuriya for three and Kumar Sangakkara for nought. He then ran out skipper Mahela Jayawardene for 36 as Sri Lanka were reduced to 78-5 before being bowled out for 141 in 39.1 overs while chasing 220 for victory under lights.

The former South Africa captain also caught tail-ender Muttiah Muralitharan at long-on for three.

Paceman Andre Nel took three wickets for 41, including that of Tillakaratne Dilshan for 36, to dismantle Sri Lanka’s middle-order batting.

Earlier yesterday, a defiant half-century by AB de Villiers (54) and a quickfire eighth-wicket stand of 42 between Robin Peterson and Pollock guided South Africa to 219-9 after they were put in to bat in what was a must-win game for both teams.


Sri Lanka won toss

South Africa

*G C Smith c J’suriya b Vaas 10

H H Dippenaar c S’kkara b Vaas 3

H H Gibbs c S’kkara b Malinga 16

J H Kallis st S’kkara b J’suriya 43

A B de Villiers c Maharoof b M’tharan 54

†M V Boucher b Malinga 29

J M Kemp b Jayasuriya 7

S M Pollock not out 21

R J Peterson b Malinga 22

A Nel b Malinga 0

M Ntini not out 1

Extras (b4, lb2, w6, nb1) 13

Total (9 wkts, 50 overs) 219

Fall: 1-13, 2-30, 3-30, 4-110, 5-145, 6-169, 7-176, 8-218, 9-218

Bowling: Vaas 10-3-16-2; Malinga 9-0-53-4 (2w); Fernando 5-0-24-0 (1nb); Muralitharan 10-0-42-1 (1w); Jayasuriya 10-0-36-2 (2w); Maharoof 5-0-34-0; Dilshan 1-0-8-0

Sri Lanka

W U Tharanga c Boucher b Ntini 11

S T Jayasuriya lbw b Pollock 3

*D P M D Jayawardene run out (Gibbs/Pollock) 36

†K C Sangakkara c Boucher b Pollock 0

M S Atapattu b Nel 2

T M Dilshan c Gibbs b Nel 36

M F Maharoof c Smith b Kallis 3

W P U J C Vaas not out 29

S L Malinga c Smith b Nel 2

M Muralitharan c Pollock b Ntini 3

C R D Fernando lbw b Kemp 4

Extras (lb5, w5, nb2) 12

Total (all out, 39.1 overs) 141

Fall: 1-9, 2-21, 3-23, 4-34, 5-78, 6-91, 7-114, 8-124, 9-127

Bowling: Pollock 10-0-21-2 (1nb, 1w); Ntini 9-1-24-2 (1nb, 1w); Nel 9-1-41-3; Kallis 8-0-34-1 (1w); Kemp 3.1-0-16-1 (2w)

Result: South Africa won by 78 runs

Points: South Africa 2, Sri Lanka 0

Man of the Match: Shaun Pollock

Umpires: D J Harper (Australia) and S J A Taufel (Australia). TV umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan). Match referee: J J Crowe (New Zealand)

ICC Champions Trophy Points Table

Group A P W L Pts NRR

India 1 1 - 2 +1.771

Australia 2 1 1 2 +0.507

West Indies 1 1 - 2 +0.200

England 2 - 2 0 -1.522

Group B

New Zealand 2 1 1 2 +0.414

Pakistan 1 1 - 2 +0.234

South Africa 2 1 1 2 -0.090

Sri Lanka 3 1 2 2 -0.195
Source:The News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Wednesday, October 25th, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Fleming seeks Pakistan scalp; team of Younis not relaxing »
Next Post: New Zealand in a must-win situation against Pakistan »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.