IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Pakistan players apply for IPL 3


kamranAt least 12 players from Pakistan have applied to the IPL requesting to be placed in next season’s auction. Though the identities of all the applicants is not yet clear, one player said most of the touring squad currently in Australia has been in touch with the IPL.

The IPL had earlier this month set a December 31 deadline for players from Pakistan to put themselves into the auction pool for IPL 3. Four players - Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Misbah-ul-Haq and Umar Gul - already have contracts with franchises from the first season, though they stand currently suspended. The only way they can now participate is if their franchises free up a spot in their squads by offloading a foreign player.

“All the players here have sent emails to Lalit Modi expressing their interest for next season,” one of the players told Cricinfo. “We haven’t yet applied for visas to India but we have the NOC’s in place from the board.”

An IPL official confirmed to Cricinfo that “over 12 players” had applied from Pakistan though he was also unsure of the exact number. The PCB has passed out general NOCs for all its players, clearing them from their end to play next season. The board has been keen on its players being able to take part in the next season after they missed out on the last IPL, held in South Africa.

Pakistan’s government had refused to clear its players to take part in that season, believing that their security would be at risk in India after the Mumbai terror attacks of 2008. That incident led to a deterioration in political ties between India and Pakistan. Because the relationship remains unstable, it is unclear what kind of interest franchises will show in Pakistan players during the auction.
Source:Cricket News

Image Source:Cricinfo

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Wednesday, December 30th, 2009 and is filed under Cricket, General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Hauritz five seals Australian victory »
Next Post: Sri Lanka make sweeping changes for Bangladesh tri-series »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.