ICL: Indian Cricket League

Ntini bowls South Africa to win over India


ntiniMakhaya Ntini bowled South Africa to victory in the second Test against India on Saturday. South Africa won by 174 runs to level the series at 1-1 with one match left to play.

Fast bowler Ntini took five for 48 to help dismiss India, who needed 354 to win, for 179 in the seventh over after tea on the fifth day. South Africa were dismissed for 328 in their first innings, to which India replied with 240. South Africa declared their second innings closed on 265 for eight.

Bad light delayed the start of play by 55 minutes and allowed just 4.3 overs to be bowled before lunch. Ntini made good use of his limited opportunity in the morning, however, when he claimed two wickets for one run in the 15 deliveries he bowled before bad light ended the session.

Ntini struck with the fifth ball of the day’s play by trapping Sachin Tendulkar in front for a seven-ball duck with a delivery that would have hit the top of middle stump. Nine balls later Wasim Jaffer, who batted patiently for his 28, attempted to pull a short delivery from Ntini and top-edged a catch to Andre Nel at mid-on.

Sourav Ganguly was dismissed for 26 in the 10th over after lunch when he steered a delivery from Ntini to Herschelle Gibbs in the gully. Fast bowler Andre Nel reduced India to 85 for six when he speared VVS Laxman’s guard to bowl him for 15.

Anil Kumble, who scored 11, was undone by a bouncer from medium pacer Andrew Hall that he fended to Hashim Amla at short-leg. Mahendra Dhoni and Zaheer Khan slowed South Africa’s progress with a defiant stand of 59 for the eighth wicket.

India might have slipped to 132 for eight but Gibbs at fourth slip dropped a catch offered by Zaheer Khan on eight off a no-ball from fast bowler Morne Morkel. Nel ended the partnership two balls before tea when Dhoni, who hit 10 fours in his 47, flashed outside his off-stump and was well caught by wicket-keeper Mark Boucher diving in front of first slip.

Zaheer, who scored 21, became Nel’s third victim by edging to Hall at third slip in the sixth over after tea. The match ended two balls later when Shanta Sreesanth was given out caught behind by Boucher off Hall for 10. Nel took three for 57.

India won the first Test in the three-match series by 123 runs in Johannesburg. The third Test starts in Cape Town on Tuesday.

Soutth Africa won toss

South Africa 1st inns 328 (H H Gibbs 63, A G Prince 121, M V Boucher 53; S Sreesanth 4-109)

India 1st inns 240 (S R Tendulkar 63, V V S Laxman 50*)

South Africa 2nd inns 265-8 dec (G C Smith 59, A B de Villiers 47, S M Pollock 63*; S Sreesanth 4-80)

India 2nd inns (overnight 38-2)

W Jaffer c Nel b Ntini 28

V Sehwag c Smith b Ntini 8

*R Dravid c Boucher b Ntini 5

S R Tendulkar lbw b Ntini 0

V V S Laxman b Nel 15

S C Ganguly c Gibbs b Ntini 26

†M S Dhoni c Boucher b Nel 47

A Kumble c Amla b Hall 11

Z Khan c Hall b Nel 21

S Sreesanth c Boucher b Hall 10

V R V Singh not out 0

Extras (b2, lb1, w1, nb4) 8

Total (all out, 55.1 overs) 179

Fall: 1-14, 2-34, 3-38, 4-45, 5-83, 6-85, 7-101, 8-160, 9-179

Bowling: Nel 16-4-57-3; Ntini 19-6-48-5; Pollock 9-5-20-0; Morkel 6-0-25-0 (3nb, 1w); Hall 5.1-1-26-2

Result: South Africa won by 174 runs

Series: 3-match series level 1-1

Man of the Match: Makhaya Ntini

Test debut: Morne Morkel (South Africa)

Umpires: Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and M R Benson (England). TV umpire: I L Howell. Match referee: R S Mahanama (Sri Lanka)

First Test match: December 15-18 Johannesburg, India won by 123 runs

Third & final Test: January 2-6, Cape Town

Source:The News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Sunday, December 31st, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Most wicketkeeping dismissals in an innings »
Next Post: Pakistan in ODI in 2006: Malik, Naved top aggregates »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.