ICL: Indian Cricket League

Mohammad Yousuf, Asif on ICC Awards shortlist


youhanaPakistan paceman Mohammad Asif has been shortlisted for an International Cricket Council (ICC) award despite testing positive for a banned substance while Asif’s compatriot Mohammad Yousuf has been named in the shortlists of two categories of the prestigious awards, it was announced here on Sunday.

“Asif is eligible for the award as the period under consideration was before the doping offence,” said Malcolm Speed, the ICC Chief Executive. Asif, who was asked by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to return from the ongoing ICC Champions Trophy along with pace spearhead Shoaib Akhtar, is among four players in contention for the Emerging Player award. English batsmen Alastair Cook and Ian Bell and left-arm spinner Monty Panesar are the others in the reckoning.

Asif had tested positive for banned substance nandrolone during tests conducted by the PCB before the team left for India. “The PCB has conducted a hearing and we have been informed that a decision will be taken by October 26,” added Speed.

Pakistan’s middle-order batsman Mohammad Asif, having represented his country in 70 Test matches and who boasts a solid batting average of 53.12, was shortlisted in two categories of the Awards — Cricketer of The Year and Test Player of The Year. Yousuf, also having played 224 One-day Internationals (ODIs), has been in prime form for the last several months. In the England Test series earlier this year, Yousuf amassed 631 runs in the four-match rubber including three centuries.

The panel for the awards is headed by former Indian skipper Sunil Gavaskar. The awards will be presented in Mumbai on November 3.

ICC shortlist:

Cricketer of The Year:

Mohammad Yousuf (PAK), Michael Hussey (AUS), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI), Ricky Ponting (AUS); Test Player of The Year: Mohammad Yousuf (PAK), Muttiah Muralitharan, Ricky Ponting, Shane Warne (AUS).

One-day Player of The Year: Michael Hussey, Mahela Jayawardene (SRI), Ricky Ponting, Yuvraj Singh (IND).

Emerging Player of The Year: Mohammad Asif (PAK), Alastair Cook (ENG), Ian Bell (ENG), Monty Panesar (ENG).

Captain of The Year: Ricky Ponting, Rahul Dravid (IND), Michael Vaughan (ENG), Mahela Jayawardene.

Woman Player of The Year: Karen Rolton (AUS), Anjum Chopra (IND), Katherne Brunt (ENG).

Spirit of Cricket: India, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka.

Best Umpire of The Year: Aleem Dar (PAK), Rudi Koertzen (RSA) and Simon Taufel (AUS).

Ponting nominated for four ICC awards

MUMBAI: Australian cricket team’s captain Ricky Ponting has been nominated in four categories for this year’s International Cricket Council (ICC) awards, the sport’s governing body said on Sunday. Ponting has been short-listed for the Cricketer of The Year, Test Player of The Year, One-day Player of The Year and the new Captain of The Year awards for performances between August 1, 2005 and August 8, 2006.

Source:The News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Monday, October 23rd, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Disclosure of names violates doping code! »
Next Post: Match-fixing suspicions in 1999 World Cup »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.