ICL: Indian Cricket League

McGrath named in provisional squad for ICC Champions Trophy



Fast bowler Glenn McGrath was named on Monday in Australia’s provisional 30-man squad for October’s International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy in India.

The 36-year-old McGrath, who has not played for Australia since January after taking time off to help his wife Jane in her battle against cancer, made a successful return to training in Brisbane last month.

A Cricket Australia (CA) spokesman said no decision had been taken over the timing of McGrath’s return, with the Champions Trophy, the domestic Pura Cup competition and a triangular series in Singapore next month all possible options. “The selectors have been talking to Glenn on a regular basis to discuss the most appropriate moment for his return,” the spokesman said.

The squad includes six uncapped one-day players, Tasmania’s Ben Hilfenhaus and Travis Birt, Doug Bollinger of New South Wales (NSW), Victoria’s David Hussey, Western Australia’s Shaun Marsh and South Australia’s Shaun Tait.

Seamer Mick Lewis was recalled to the squad for the first time since he recorded the worst figures in one-day history of nought for 113 when South Africa beat Australia in Johannesburg in March after successfully chasing down a target of 435.

“There is a lot of experience in the squad which reflects the fact that Australia has been on top of the international one-day game for some time,” chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said. Australia open their Champions Trophy campaign against a qualifier in Mumbai on October 18. The final 14-man squad will be named on September 7.

Australia’s provisional squad: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain), Travis Birt, Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Mark Cosgrove, Dan Cullen, Brett Dorey, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Phil Jacques, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Michael Lewis, Glenn McGrath, Shaun Marsh, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Shane Watson and Cameron White.
Source:The News

More on:, , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Tuesday, August 8th, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Ashes hopes of Jones dim »
Next Post: Youngest ODI captains »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.