IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Lee on fire as Australia outclass Windies in final


Bret LeeAustralia crushed the West Indies by 127 runs to win the DLF Cup final at the Kinrara Oval here on Sunday and send a chilling warning to their rivals ahead of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy next month.

Set 241 to win, the West Indies were skittled out for 113 from 34.2 overs, unable to deal with the power and accuracy of Australia’s top-notch bowling attack.

Brett Lee took 4-24 while his partner Glenn McGrath bowled six overs for just six runs, two of which were extras.

The Windies got off to the worst possible start when Chris Gayle was sensationally out lbw to a Lee yorker on the first ball of the innings. Lee and McGrath, one of the deadliest opening attacks in world cricket, went in for the kill, restricting the West Indies to just 12 runs in the first seven overs.

Lee was given a breather and the peroxide blonde Nathan Bracken was brought into the action with dramatic consequences.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul smacked him for four on his first ball but that’s where it ended as he mistimed a flick off the legs the very next ball to be caught by Simon Katich at mid-wicket.

Runako Morton spent 31 balls at the crease without scoring when Bracken trapped him leg before, leaving the West Indies at 20 for three.

It brought Brian Lara to the crease and along with Ramnaresh Sarwan looked to be steadying the ship before a dubious decision cost him dear. The 37-year-old played and missed at a Bracken delivery and wicket-keeper Brad Haddin appealed for a catch. TV replays appeared to show he got no bat on it, but he was gone for five.

The pressure was unrelenting and Dwayne Bravo (8) lamely pulled a Shane Watson ball to Ricky Ponting at short mid-wicket and Wavell Hinds followed him soon after without scoring, clean bowled by a Watson rocket.

Sarwan offered resistance and knocked 36 when he was run out by Ponting after a mix up with Dwayne Smith. Smith whacked 30 off 30 balls before he too was out to an easy catch by Ponting off Lee. Ian Bradshaw went three balls later and Jerome Taylor’s dismissal ended their misery.

Earlier, Ponting had won the toss and elected to bat on a slow outfield after morning rain and the runs proved hard to come by for Australia before a late flurry.

Damien Martyn and Andrew Symonds both scored 52 as the world champions reached 240-6. Bradshaw picked 2-30 off his 10 overs.

Australia struggled to get going with opener Katich batting at a snail’s pace. Watson (18) was faring better before Bradshaw enticed an edge that Gayle collected at slip. Ponting bounced to the wicket but was back in the pavilion for six, out lbw to Taylor. Katich finally broke free with a six off Bravo in the 20th over before being toppled for 25 from 66 balls, caught by substitute fielder Marlon Samuels near the boundary.

Martyn did his best to get things going but eventually went after getting under a ball from Bradshaw, holing out to Runako Morton.

Andrew Symonds then began doing what he does best — hitting out — before Sarwan had the wild-haired all-rounder caught by Morton in the deep. Michael Hussey, Michael Clarke and Haddin added valuable late runs.


Australia won toss


S R Watson c Gayle b Bradshaw 18

S M Katich c sub (M N Samuels) b Gayle 25

*R T Ponting lbw b Taylor 6

D R Martyn c Morton b Bradshaw 52

A Symonds c Morton b Sarwan 52

M J Clarke c Gayle b Sarwan 23

M E K Hussey not out 30

†B J Haddin not out 17

Extras (lb7, w9, nb1) 17

Total (6 wkts, 50 overs) 240

Did not bat: B Lee, N W Bracken, G D McGrath

Fall: 1-24, 2-37, 3-80, 4-153, 5-173, 6-200

Bowling: Bradshaw 10-2-30-2 (1w); Smith 8-1-35-0 (1nb, 1w); Taylor 10-1-36-1; Bravo 9-1-65-0 (3w); Gayle 9-0-46-1 (3w); Sarwan 4-0-21-2

West Indies

C H Gayle lbw b Lee 0

S Chanderpaul c Katich b Bracken 12

R S Morton lbw b Bracken 0

R R Sarwan run out (Ponting) 36

*B C Lara c Haddin b Bracken 5

D J Bravo c Ponting b Watson 8

W W Hinds b Watson 0

D R Smith c Ponting b Lee 30

†C S Baugh c Haddin b Lee 3

I D R Bradshaw c Haddin b Lee 0

J E Taylor not out 0

Extras (b2, lb7, w3, nb7) 19

Total (all out, 34.2 overs) 113

Fall: 1-0, 2-16, 3-20, 4-32, 5-55, 6-56, 7-106, 8-112, 9-112

Bowling: Lee 8.2-1-24-4 (3nb); McGrath 6-2-6-0 (1nb, 1w); Bracken 7-0-16-3 (1w); Watson 6-0-30-2 (3nb, 1w); Symonds 3-0-15-0; Clarke 4-0-13-0

Result: Australia won by 127 runs

Man of the Match: Brett Lee

Player of the Series: Brett Lee

Umpires: Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and M R Benson (England). TV umpire: A L Hill (New Zealand). Match referee: B C Broad (England)

Previous matches: September 12, Australia beat West Indies by 78 runs. September 14, West Indies beat India by 29 runs (D/L Method). September 16, Australia v India no result. September 18, West Indies beat Australia by 3 wickets. September 20, India beat West Indies by 16 runs. September 22, Australia beat India by 18 runs. All matches at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur, and day/night fixtures
Source:The News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Capture the Conversation tells you what people are saying right now!

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now View Comments or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Monday, September 25th, 2006 and is filed under General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: »
Next Post: »

Read More

Related Reading:

    blog comments powered by Disqus