IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Kumble, Zaheer Khan recalled


Veterans Anil Kumble and Zaheer Khan were on Monday recalled to the under-performing Indian team for five One-day Internationals (ODIs) in South Africa next month.

Leg-spinner Kumble, 36, has not been considered for limited-overs cricket since August, 2005, despite being the most successful Indian bowler in both forms of the game with 533 Test and 329 one-day wickets. Left-arm seamer Zaheer, 28, was dumped after the tour of Pakistan in February and spent time honing his skills with English County Worcestershire.

Zaheer has claimed 155 wickets in 107 ODIs and appeared fit and raring to go in domestic cricket this season. Both Kumble and Zaheer were brought back a day after India were knocked out of the ongoing ICC Champions Trophy at home following a six-wicket defeat at the hands of favourites Australia here.

New chairman of selectors Dilip Vengsarkar refused to make wholesale changes even though Rahul Dravid’s men have lost eight of their last 10 ODIs. Off-spinner Ramesh Powar was the only omission from the 14 that played in the Champions Trophy where India defeated England before losing their next two matches to the West Indies and Australia.

Test opener Wasim Jaffar, who has yet to play an ODI despite playing 14 Tests, was the only surprise inclusion for the tour. “We expect wickets in South Africa to be grassy and favouring fast bowlers, so it was decided to bring in an extra opener like Jaffar,” Vengsarkar told reporters here. The team for the three Test matches to follow will be named later, he added.

Middle-order batsman Yuvraj Singh, who tore a ligament on his left knee last week, and seamer Ajit Agarkar, recovering from a broken left thumb, were retained in the squad, subject to passing fitness tests. Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik and seamer Vikram Pratap Singh will stand-by in case Yuvraj and Agarkar fail to make the tour which begins on November 16.

India’s ODI squad: Rahul Dravid (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Jaffer, Mohammad Kaif, Yuvraj Singh (Dinesh Karthik on stand-by), Suresh Raina, Dinesh Mongia, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar (Vikram Pratap Singh on standby), Munaf Patel, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble and Zaheer Khan.

Source:The News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Tuesday, October 31st, 2006 and is filed under General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Mixed emotions from Pakistan fans in India »
Next Post: Afridi sorry at Champions Trophy failure »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.