ICL: Indian Cricket League

It is wrong we have forgiven Hair, says Shaharyar


sharyarFormer chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said on Tuesday that Australian umpire Darrell Hair had still not been forgiven for his role in August’s forfeited Oval Test against England.

Shaharyar Khan, who resigned last week over the furore, said his replacement as chairman, Nasim Ashraf, would continue to press the International Cricket Council (ICC) to launch an inquiry into Hair’s role in the debacle.

“It’s a wrong impression that we have forgiven Hair. Instead, our lawyer has prepared a paper and the new chairman has also vowed to further the case,” he said.

At The Oval Test, Hair and fellow umpire West Indian Billy Doctrove, accused Pakistan of tampering illegally with the ball. This led to the Pakistan team’s refusal to continue the Test which umpires later awarded to England on forfeit — the first time this had happened in Test cricket’s 129-year history.

An ICC disciplinary hearing acquitted Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq of the ball-tampering charges but banned him for four One-day International (ODI) matches for bringing the game into disrepute by leading his team in protest.

Shaharyar said Pakistan has a strong case in calling for an inquiry into Hair’s behaviour as the side had later agreed to come out and play only for the umpires then to refuse to take the field. “After Pakistan agreed to play, Hair’s conduct was unbecoming of an international official and we have quoted all rules and regulations in our demand for an inquiry against Hair,” stated Shaharyar.

Hair was further embarrassed by a leaked e-mail to an ICC official in which he offered to resign in exchange for a 500,000-dollar pay-off.

Source:The News

More on:, , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Strauss still keen on captaincy »
Next Post: Tharanga stars in another Sri Lanka win »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.