ICL: Indian Cricket League

Invincible Australia

Written by Commoner on May 10th, 2007   (478 views)

Whatever Srilanka says about Gilchrist use of squash ball in his gloves, when he thrashed the lankan bowlers like cotton, Australia thorougly outclass everyone in every game of the most pathetic world cup to date. Regardless of the extent of mis-management of the cricket’s most prestigious event, Australia once again stamped its authority on its opponents in a grand style.

Australia has completed its hatrick of winning the world cup this year. Australia is the first country to achieve this exclusive milestone. From 1996 to 2007, Australia has played every final of the world cup. In total, Australia has won the world cup four times.

Long term planning, perseverance, hard work and professionalism are the key elements behind this platinum success. The 80’s were the worst years for Australia, when in the early years of 80’s, its star players like Graig Chappell, Dennis Lilli and Rodney Marsh took retirement, and Australia dipped deep into a talent crisis.

In the world cups of 82/83 and in 87, Australia received a humiliated defeat from Pakistan, West Indies and England. In the captaincy of Kim Hughes, Australia lost to Pakistan by 3-0, then Allan Border took the helm of affairs, but he too failed to save his team from the black storm of West Indies. In the late, Australia lost Ashes series from the English team of Mike Getting.

But then they rose from the debris with a new resolve and then never looked back. In the first match of 1987 world cup, they defeated India and then their romp started and they snatched that world cup in Eden Garden, Kolkatta.

Then Mark Taylor led his team to the new heights of glory and laid the foundations of a supramcy which could last the next 20 years. In the presence of Mary Taylor, Steve waugh was groomed as a future skipper, and Waugh proved that he could reach to glory. The last world cup of the previous century was won by Australia in 1999 in the captaincy of Steven Waugh. When Waugh was making the history of Australia, Ricky Ponting was cultivated as his successor, and Ricky proved, after taking the charge, that he could lead Australia to  Zenith and beyond.

What did Pakistan do after winning the world cup in 1992?


More on:, , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Thursday, May 10th, 2007 and is filed under Cricket.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: After the straight talk, spin could win »
Next Post: Trust Shoaib Malik to deliver, says Pakistan manager »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.