ICL: Indian Cricket League

ICC prepares to launch U-19 World Cup


The International Cricket Council (ICC) will officially launch the Under-19 World Cup in Kuala Lumpur this Wednesday (tomorrow).

The tournament takes place in Malaysia between February 17 and March 2 and will spread over three cities — Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Johor. Besides the ICC’s 10 Full Members and hosts Malaysia, five qualifiers — Namibia, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Ireland and Bermuda — will take part.

The 16 teams have been divided into four groups with the top two teams progressing to the Super League quarter-finals while the two bottom teams from each group will play in the Plate Championship quarter-finals.

The winners of the Super League quarter-finals will qualify for the semifinals whereas the losing quarter-finalists will play in the Super League play-offs. The winners of the Plate Championship quarter-finals will play in the Plate Championship semifinals while the beaten quarter-finalists will participate in the Plate Championship play-offs.

Source:Cricket News

More on:,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Tuesday, November 20th, 2007 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Shoaib Malik vows to get even in Tests »
Next Post: Vettori lambasts inept performance »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.