ICL: Indian Cricket League

ICC allows batting team to choose one Powerplay


The batting team will decide when to introduce either the second or the third Powerplay during their innings, starting with the one-day series between New Zealand and Bangladesh in October. The change from the earlier scenario, in which the fielding side decided when Powerplays would be taken, is part of the ICC’s new playing conditions which takes effect from October 1.

The ICC Chief Executives’ Committee had met in June and unanimously approved certain changes. The amendment to the Powerplay rule also allows the captain three fielders outside the 30-yard circle during the second and third Powerplay. The previous rule allowed the captain to have two fielders in the outfield during the first Powerplay, and three in the others.

The committee also aimed to curb players from taking comfort breaks during a match by stating that substitute fielders will be only permitted in cases of injury, illness or other wholly acceptable reasons, which should be limited to extreme circumstances.

The ICC also decided to retain the free-hit rule as well as the mandatory changing of the ball at the start of the 35th over of an innings.

The interval rule, implemented in June, which allowed the umpires to reduce the length of time between innings in an ODI, if the innings of the side batting first is delayed or interrupted, was also retained.

“In the event of time being lost [playing time lost less any extra time provided] up to and including 60 minutes in aggregate, the length of the interval shall be reduced from 45 to 30 minutes. In the event of more than 60 minutes being lost in aggregate, the duration of the interval shall be agreed mutually by the umpires and both captains subject to no interval being of more than 30 minutes’ duration or less than 10 minutes’ duration. In the event of disagreement, the length of the interval shall be determined by the match referee.”

Umpires can now consult the third umpire on whether or not a catch was taken cleanly. “Following such consultation, the final decision will be made and given by the bowler’s-end umpire. Should the bowler’s-end umpire still not be able to decide, a not-out decision shall be given.”

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Tuesday, September 30th, 2008 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Ponting still open to pact on catches »
Next Post: Harmison inspired by axing - Gibson »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.