ICL: Indian Cricket League

Hosts share Champions Trophy group with Australia, India


Hosts Pakistan have been bracketed in the same group with world champions Australia and arch-rivals India for this fall’s International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy.

According to the pools of the eight-nation tournament announced by the ICC on Thursday, Pakistan will be sharing Group A with Australia, India and the West Indies. Group B includes winner of the inaugural event South Africa as well as New Zealand, Sri Lanka and England.

The groupings were finalised on the basis of teams’ rankings in the ICC One-day International (ODI) Championship table as on March 12 which was the cut-off date for the determination of the seedings for the ICC Champions Trophy scheduled for this September in Pakistan.

The ICC Development International (IDI) Board, in its September 2005 meeting, decided that the 2008 tournament would feature the eight top teams as per the ICC ODI Championship table exactly six months prior to the scheduled start of the tournament.

The eight teams are split into two groups of four with a round-robin format in operation. The top two sides from each group will progress to the semifinals with the winners of these matches contesting the final.

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Friday, March 14th, 2008 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Pakistan hope to play five ODIs v Sri Lanka »
Next Post: Ambrose, Anderson give England firm grip »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.