IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Holland in preliminary Champions Trophy squad


jonJon Holland, the emerging Victorian spinner, is one of seven uncapped players in Australia’s preliminary Champions Trophy squad as the selectors search for young talent ahead of the 2011 World Cup. But the ODI careers of Brad Hodge and Stuart Clark appear all but over after they failed to make the initial 30-man group.

The left-arm spinner Holland, 22, has played only eight List A games and is by far the least experienced member of the extended line-up, from which the final 15-man squad will be picked. However, the selectors are keen to keep an eye on Holland, who impressed in the recent Australia A games against Pakistan A in Queensland.

The offspinner Jason Krejza has also been named but he and Holland will face a tough battle to make the final touring party with Nathan Hauritz firmly entrenched as the No. 1 spinner. The Tasmanian wicketkeeper Tim Paine has emerged as the new limited-overs backup to Brad Haddin, also following strong performances for Australia A.

Phillip Hughes may also be trialled in the one-day format after being used as a Test specialist so far, while his fellow Ashes squad member Andrew McDonald is also in the mix. The other members of the group yet to make their ODI debuts are Moises Henriques, who has played a Twenty20 for Australia, and the Victoria fast bowler Clint McKay, who also featured for Australia A recently.

Surprisingly, his state team-mate Hodge was not named in the 30-man group despite holding a Cricket Australia contract and enjoying another productive domestic season. There was also no room for Clark, who has been a fringe ODI player and featured in the recent series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

“The Australian side is currently in a rebuilding phase as we prepare for the 2011 ICC World Cup, following the loss of so many important players from the 2007 World Cup-winning team,” the chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said. “The ICC Champions Trophy is a key event in international cricket and a very important one for Australia as we look to lift our one-day international performances in our bid to retain this trophy.

“The squad recognises the performances of our proven one-day international players, the strong performance of the Australia A side in the recent one-day series against Pakistan A and the performances of our interstate players in the Ford Ranger Cup.” The deadline for Australia to submit their final squad of 15 is on August 23.

Preliminary squad Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke, Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Brett Geeves, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, Jon Holland, James Hopes, Phillip Hughes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Marcus North, Tim Paine, Peter Siddle, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.
Source:Cricket News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Thursday, July 23rd, 2009 and is filed under Cricket, General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Injured Lee left out of tour game »
Next Post: Sangakkara helps Sri Lanka to a draw »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.