ICL: Indian Cricket League

Harmison quits one-day cricket, Vaughan recalled


England fast bowler Steve Harmison announced his retirement from One-day Internationals (ODIs) on Thursday, while injured captain Michael Vaughan was recalled for next month’s triangular series here.

Harmison, 28, said he wanted to concentrate on Test cricket as he quit ahead of the series with Australia and New Zealand and next year’s World Cup.

“After careful consideration and having taken advice from several people who have been close to me throughout my career, I have decided to retire from One-day International (ODI) cricket with immediate effect,” he said in a statement.

“This has been a difficult decision but I want to play at the highest level for as long as I can and believe that concentrating solely on Test cricket is the best way forward for me during the next phase of what will hopefully be a long England career,” he said.

Harmison has struggled with his form, taking just one wicket in the first two Ashes Tests against Australia. He took five in Perth but was unable to prevent Australia taking an unbeatable 3-0 series lead.

He has taken 67 wickets in 46 one-day matches for England at an average of 30.7 runs.

Selectors said Vaughan’s inclusion in the 16-man squad for January’s series with Australia and New Zealand was subject to fitness.

They will delay appointing a captain until after the Ashes Test series against Australia, scheduled to end on January 6.

“Michael Vaughan has been included in the one-day squad subject to fitness,” said chairman of selectors David Graveney.

“He has made excellent progress with his recovery from injury but we feel that it would not be appropriate to announce the captaincy of the one-day side at this stage and will delay any announcement until after the Test series,” he added.

Left-arm spinner Monty Panesar, who took eight wickets at Perth, has been included in a one-day squad for the first time.

England ODI Squad: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, James Dalrymple, Andrew Flintoff, Ed Joyce, Jon Lewis, Sajid Mahmood, Paul Nixon, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Liam Plunkett, Chris Read (wicket-keeper), Andrew Strauss, Chris Tremlett, Michael Vaughan.

Source:The News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Friday, December 22nd, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: ICC lift bowling ban on Shabbir Ahmed »
Next Post: ABN Amro Twenty20 Cup 2006 »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.