ICL: Indian Cricket League


Flintoff ruled out of Sri Lanka one-dayers

  (290 views)

flintoffAndrew Flintoff will miss England’s one-day tour to Sri Lanka and will return to the UK to receive specialist assessment on his troublesome left ankle. His place in the squad will be taken by Chris Tremlett.

Although Flintoff played in all five of England’s matches in the ICC World Twenty20 he was clearly in discomfort and was almost hobbling in the last game against India.

“Following the recent NatWest series in England Andrew experienced a reaction in his left ankle but subsequent scans determined no new injury had been sustained,” an ECB spokesman said. “After consultations with specialists it was felt that the ICC World Twenty20 would provide a safe platform to assess how Andrew’s ankle would respond to bowling in match conditions, without the risk of further damage to the ankle.

“Andrew has experienced some discomfort as the World Twenty20 tournament has progressed, but has been determined to provide a contribution to the team’s performance. At no time was further damage to the ankle sustained, but unfortunately it was clear that his ability to increase the intensity of his rehab and participation could not be progressed.

“Accordingly, after ongoing review and discussion with specialists, it is felt that the appropriate course of action is to allow time for the ankle joint to settle and recover before the process of further strengthening and assessment of the ankle is intensified.”

The spokesman added that Flintoff had not been ruled out of the Test series in Sri Lanka which starts in late November.

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , ,


Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Friday, September 21st, 2007 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.



Previous Post: Inspired India evict South Africa »
Next Post: Skipper wants Twenty20 crown »

Read More

Related Reading:


    Subscribe without commenting


    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.