IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Five-wicket Murali puts Bangladesh in a spin


Spin wizard Muttiah Muralitharan put Sri Lanka in a commanding position with a five-wicket haul in the opening Test against Bangladesh here on Saturday.

The off-spinner grabbed 5-48  his 66th haul of five or more wickets in a Test innings  as Bangladesh crashed to 177-9 in their first innings at stumps on the second day in reply to Sri Lanka’s 293.

Opener Imrul Kayes top-scored with 33 in an inconsistent Bangladeshi batting performance. Junaid Siddique (29), Mehrab Hossain (29) and Shakib Al Hasan (26) also got starts, but failed to convert them into big knocks.

Muralitharan was superbly backed by left-arm seamer Chaminda Vaas, who took two wickets in his four overs to finish with 2-33. Left-arm spinner Rangana Herath and Dammika Prasad each bagged one wicket.

Sri Lanka were bowled out on the stroke of lunch after resuming at 172-6, with middle-order batsman Thilan Samaraweera scoring a solid 90.

Muralitharan struck with his second delivery when he had Tamim Iqbal (17) caught by a diving Malinda Warnapura at short-leg and then bowled Siddique in the last over before the tea-break.

He was on a hat-trick in the final session when he had Shakib Al Hasan caught by skipper Mahela Jayawardene at first slip and then trapped Mashrafe Mortaza leg-before for no score.

Vaas struck twice in the afternoon session when he had Kayes caught behind and then bagged his 350th Test wicket when he had skipper Mohammad Ashraful caught by Tillakaratne Dilshan in the covers.

The morning session belonged to Samaraweera, who looked set to complete his eighth Test hundred before being the last man out. He was caught by Siddique at first slip off left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan after hitting 13 fours.

Hasan claimed two of the four wickets that fell in the morning to finish with an impressive 5-70, his third successive haul of five or more wickets in a Test innings.

Sri Lanka denied the hosts success for nearly two hours in the morning session, with Samaraweera and lower-order batsman Vaas adding 99 for the seventh wicket.

Mortaza broke their stand with the second new ball when he had Vaas caught behind for 37 a tally that included six fours.

The tourists’ innings did not last long after Vaas’s dismissal as they lost their last three wickets for just eight runs. The second and final Test starts in Chittagong on January 3.

Score board

Sri Lanka won toss

Sri Lanka 1st inns (overnight 172-6)

M G Vandort c Shakib b Shahadat 44

B S M Warnapura lbw b Mortaza 14

K C Sangakkara c Ashraful b Shakib 43

*D P M D Jayawardene b Shakib 3

T T Samaraweera c Junaid b Shakib 90

T M Dilshan b Shakib 14

H A P W Jayawardene c Tamim b Shahadat 6

W P U J C Vaas c Mushfiqur b Mortaza 37

K T G D Prasad lbw b Shakib 3

H M R K B Herath run out (Mushfiqur/Ashraful) 1

M Muralitharan not out 0

Extras (b4, lb13, w12, nb9) 38

Total (all out, 89.4 overs) 293

Fall: 1-24, 2-119, 3-121, 4-135, 5-155, 6-171, 7-270, 8-285, 9-291

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 18-2-67-2 (7nb, 2w); Mahbubul Alam 19-4-56-0 (1w); Shahadat Hossain 16-2-55-2 (1nb, 1w); Shakib Al Hasan 28.4-4-70-5; Mehrab Hossain jnr 6-1-22-0; Mohammad Ashraful 2-0-6-0

Bangladesh 1st inns

Tamim Iqbal c W’pura b M’tharan 17

Imrul Kayes c P J’wardene b Vaas 33

Junaid Siddique b Muralitharan 29

*Mohammad Ashraful c Dilshan b Vaas 12

Raqibul Hasan b Prasad 11

Mehrab Hossain jnr c M J’wardene b Herath 29

Shakib Al Hasan c M J’wardene b M’tharan 26

Mushfiqur Rahim not out 11

Mashrafe Mortaza lbw b Muralitharan 0

Shahadat Hossain st P J’wardene b M’tharan 5

Mahbubul Alam not out 0

Extras (b4) 4

Total (9 wkts, 59 overs) 177

Fall: 1-44, 2-68, 3-90, 4-95, 5-117, 6-158, 7-162, 8-162, 9-176

Bowling: Vaas 11-4-33-2; Prasad 13-0-61-1; Dilshan 2-0-2-0; Muralitharan 21-8-48-5; Herath 12-1-29-1

Umpires: S A Bucknor (West Indies) and N J Llong (England). TV umpire: Enamul Haque. Match referee: J J Crowe (New Zealand)

Second & final Test: January 3-7, Chittagong

Source:Cricket News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Monday, December 29th, 2008 and is filed under Cricket, General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Pakistan hope to single out worthy Yousuf successor »
Next Post: Sporting Spirit of Sri Lanka »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.