ICL: Indian Cricket League


Faisal Iqbal receives applogy from umpire

Written by Kashif Aziz on April 9th, 2006   (588 views)

Faisal Iqbal has received an apology from Australian umpire Steve Davis for adjudging him out leg before to Muttiah Muralitharan in the second Test against Sri Lanka in Kandy.

Faisal was given out lbw by Davis, one of the many contentious decisions given by the umpires in the second Test although television replays showed that at the point of impact the batsman was sweeping from outside the off stump.

According to Faisal, who scored 60 in the first Test in Colombo, Davis had come up to him the very next day and told him that after watching the replays he realised the decision he gave was incorrect. “He told me he was sorry for his mistake and that was enough for me because in cricket these things happen to everyone,” Faisal stated.

The recent Test series between the two countries was marred by some poor decisions by the umpires particularly Davis who stood in both Tests.

Davis had also given Kamran Akmal out bad-and-pad caught at slip off Murali when TV replays suggested the ball had only touched the thigh pad of the batsman.

In fact, sources in the Pakistan team have said that in the normal captain’s report which is sent to the International Cricket Council (ICC), the management had pointed out the glaring mistakes by the umpires particularly one incident when third umpire Asoka de Silva ruled Sri Lankan batsman Malinga Bandara not out when TV replays showed he was run out in a line decision again in the second Test at Kandy.

Source: The News

More on:, , , , ,

Technorati Tags: Sri Lanka, Kandy, Colombo, ICC



Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Sunday, April 9th, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.



Previous Post: Asad Rauf elevated to the elite »
Next Post: Inzamam enjoying respect of team mates »

Read More

Related Reading:


    Subscribe without commenting


    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.