ICL: Indian Cricket League

England take total control of second Test


England all but batted New Zealand out of the second Test with their top-six guiding their side to a 421-run lead at the close of play on the third day of the second test at the Basin Reserve on Saturday.

Already ahead by 144 runs, the England batsmen produced a series of partnerships to reach 277 for nine at the end of play, giving their bowlers a formidable target to defend and at least two days to try to level the three-match series.

The highest successful run chase at the Basin Reserve was the 277-3 achieved by Pakistan in December 2003, while the highest fourth-innings total was the 286 by New Zealand against Sri Lanka in December 2006.

Opener Alastair Cook scored 60, and combined in a 106-run partnership with Andrew Strauss (44) while there were also useful contributions from Paul Collingwood (59) and Ian Bell (41). Collingwood and Bell put on 59-runs for the fifth wicket.

Monty Panesar was six not out at the close while Collingwood, who also scored 65 in England’s first innings of 342, was trapped leg before by Mark Gillespie in the final over of the day.

Gillepsie had dropped Collingwood before he had scored.

Jacob Oram was New Zealand’s best bowler with 3-44 while Kyle Mills had figures of 2-59.

England had resumed the day’s play on 4-0 and only lost the wicket of captain Michael Vaughan (13) before lunch, when he nicked a Mills delivery to wicketkeeper Brendon McCullum, who took the straightforward catch.

Cook, Strauss and Kevin Pietersen (17) were then all dismissed between lunch and tea in front of a capacity crowd of 9,500, which forced New Zealand Cricket to close the gates.

Oram then took two wickets in the evening session, having Bell caught at point by Mathew Sinclair before he bowled Tim Ambrose, who scored a century in the first innings, for five.

Stuart Broad was dismissed just before the close when he chased a full delivery from Chris Martin and was caught behind by Brendon McCullum for 16.

Ryan Sidebottom was then caught by Jamie How at third slip for a duck off Gillespie, who trapped Collingwood in front on the first ball of the final over of the day.

New Zealand won the first Test in Hamilton by 189 runs. the final match begins in Napier on March 22.

Score board

New Zealand won toss

England 1st inns 342 (A N Cook 44, P D Collingwood 65, T R Ambrose 102; M R Gillespie 4-79)

New Zealand 1st inns 198 (L R P L Taylor 53, D L Vettori 50*; J M Anderson 5-73)

England 2nd inns (overnight 4-0)

A N Cook c Fleming b Mills 60

*M P Vaughan c McCullum b Mills 13

A J Strauss lbw b Oram 44

K P Pietersen run out (Martin) 17

I R Bell c Sinclair b Oram 41

P D Collingwood lbw b Gillespie 59

†T R Ambrose b Oram 5

S C J Broad c McCullum b Martin 16

R J Sidebottom c How b Gillespie 0

M S Panesar not out 6

Extras (b6, lb5, nb5) 16

Total (9 wkts, 94.1 overs) 277

To bat: J M Anderson

Fall: 1-21, 2-127, 3-129, 4-160, 5-219, 6-231, 7-259, 8-260, 9-277

Bowling: Martin 23-4-72-1 (1nb); Mills 23-5-59-2 (1nb); Oram 20-9-44-3; Gillespie 13.1-1-52-2 (1nb); Vettori 15-2-39-0 (2nb)

Series: New Zealand lead the 3-match series 1-0

Umpires: S J Davis (Australia) and R E Koertzen (South Africa). TV umpire: E A Watkin. Match referee: J Srinath (India)

First Test: March 5-9 Hamilton, New Zealand won by 189 runs

Third & final Test: March 22-26, Napier

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , , , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Sunday, March 16th, 2008 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Shoaib seeking BCCI help to avoid punishment? »
Next Post: Gayle, Sarwan and Chanderpaul could miss Tests »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.