March 11, 2006

Muralitharan achieves 600 Test Wickets

Sri Lankan off-spin wizard Muttiah Muralitharan joined Shane Warne as the only cricketer to nail 600 Test wickets, ensuring their fierce rivalry moves into another sphere.

He achieved the milestone with his famous ‘doosra’ delivery in the second Test against Bangladesh here, forcing former captain Khaled Mashud (12) to hole out to Lasith Malinga at deep square-leg.

The landmark wicket sparked celebrations from the Sri Lankan players who mobbed their star bowler, completing the feat 13 years after his Test debut in Colombo against Australia. It also made him the first bowler to pick up 50 wickets against every Test playing nation, cementing his status as the greatest player in Sri Lankan history.

Technorati Tags: Muralitharan, Shane Warne, doosra, Colombo, Australia

February 18, 2006

Saqlain signs for Ireland

Saqlain Mushtaq, the former Pakistan offspinner, is set to play for Ireland in this year’s Cheltenham & Gloucester Trophy. Saqlain, 29, was confirmed as the first of two overseas cricketers that Ireland plan on signing in the new league format of the one-day game in the United Kingdom.

Saqlain played 49 Tests and 169 one-day internationals for Pakistan, with 208 and 288 wickets respectively. The fastest bowler to reach 100 wickets in one-day cricket, Saqlain has been acknowledged as the first offspinner to master the doosra, the delivery that spins away from the right-handed batsman even though it is delivered with an offspinner’s action. He also played for Surrey for eight seasons before a major knee surgery interrupted his run of success there.

Technorati Tags: Saqlain Mushtaq, United Kingdom, doosra

CricketViewer Heat Map

Abdul Razzaq Abdur Razzak ABN AMRO ABN AMRO Cup ABN AMRO National One Day Championship ABN AMRO Twenty20 Cup Abu Dhabi ADCC Afghanistan Alastair Cook Andrew Flintoff Andrew Strauss Anil Kumblee Ashley Giles Australia Bangladesh BBC BCCI Bob Woolmer Chaminda Vaas Chittagong Chris Broad Colombo Cricket Daniel Vettori Danish Kaneria Deaf Series Derbyshire Dhoni Doosra england England in India 2006 England in India 2006 Essex Faisal Iqbal faisalabad FICA FTP Geo TV george bush Glenn McGrath Greg Chappell Herschelle Gibbs Ian Blackwell icc Imran Farhat Imran Khan India India in Pakistan 2006 Inzamam Inzaman Inzoolmer Ireland Irfan Pathan James Anderson javed miandad Jonty Rhodes Kamran Akmal Karachi KCCA Kenya Kevin Pietersen Kevin Pieterson Kolkata Kookaburra Kumar Sangakkara Lahore Marcus Trescothick Marvan Atapattu Matthew Hayden Matthew Hoggard Matthew Sinclair MCC Michael Vaughan Mike Gatting Mohali Mohammad Irshad Mohammad Sami Mohammad Yousuf Mohammad Yusuf monty panesar Mudassar Nazar Muhammad Asif Muhammad Hafeez Muhammad Yousuf Multan Mumbai Munaf Patel Muralitharan Muttiah Muralitharan Nathan Astle National Stadium NCA New Zealand Pakistan Pakistan in England 2006 Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2006 Paul Collingwood PCB Pentagular League Cricket Peshawar Peshwar PTV racism Rahul Dravid Ramesh Powar Rana Naveed Ranji Trophy Ricky Ponting RP Singh Sachin Tendulkar Salman Butt Sanath Jayasuriya Saqlain Mushtaq Saurav Ganguly Shahid Afridi shane warne Shaun Udal Shoaib Akhtar Shoaib Malik Shoaib Mohammad Sialkot Simon Jones Sourav Ganguly South Africa Sri Lanka Supersub Tahir Khan Ten Sports Terrence Duffin Tom Moody Trevor Penny Twenty20 Twenty20 World Championship Twenty20 World Cup UBL Under 19 World Cup VB Series Virendar Sehwag VVS Laxman Waqar Younis Wasim Akram Wasim Bari West Indies World Cup Yorkshire Younis Khan Zaheer Abbas Zaheer Khan zimbabwe