IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Bangladesh take series lead against Zimbabwe


Bangladesh posted an unlikely 14-run victory against timid Zimbabwe in the third of four One-day Internationals (ODIs) here on Friday.

The tourists had struggled to make 228 for nine in their 50 overs and looked to be on their way to defeat when Zimbabwe raced to 91 without loss. But Zimbabwe then folded meekly after openers Terrence Duffin (37) and Vusi Sibanda (64) were out, the hosts going on to assemble only 214 all out with two balls remaining.

With only one match to play, Bangladesh hold an unbeatable 2-1 lead.

The tourists’ main effort centred upon Shahriar Nafees with 69, his 13th one-day half century, and Mushfique Rahim, who made 42, who put on 100 runs for the fourth wicket. This turned out to be a match-winning combination.

Bangladesh had earlier been in trouble on 10-2 and again afterwards when they slumped from 136-3 to 146-6. But skipper Habibul Bashar, supported by Mashrafe Mortaza, took Bangladesh to a reasonable total representing a sporting chance against a notoriously unpredictable home side.

It all looked so good for Zimbabwe with Sibanda at the wicket again impressive on 64. In the previous matches, he had produced 47 and 93 not out. With Duffin holding firm, they had set up a decent launch pad. But Masakadza scored only six in 21 balls, Brendan Taylor 13 in 30 balls and Keith Dabengwa 18 in 31 balls as they tried to consolidate.

But instead of that, they dug Zimbabwe into a hole and were never able to climb out of it. The run rate required rose and wickets tumbled as the tail tried forlornly to engineer a recovery. From 202-6, Zimbabwe managed only another 13 runs from the last 34 balls.

The series winds up with a fourth and final match here on Saturday (today).


Zimabawe won toss


Tamim Iqbal c Brent b Ireland 5

Shahriar Nafees c Sibanda b Dabengwa 69

Aftab Ahmed c Mpofu b Ireland 1

Saqibul Hasan c Taylor b Chigumbura 11

†Mushfiqur Rahim c Williams b Brent 42

*Habibul Bashar run out 31

Mohammad Ashraful run out 3

Mashrafe Mortaza b Ireland 29

Mohammad Sharif run out 6

Tapash Baisya not out 18

Abdur Razzak not out 2

Extras (b4, w7) 11

Total (9 wkts, 50 overs) 228

Fall: 1-7, 2-10, 3-36, 4-136, 5-142, 6-149, 7-200, 8-203, 9-211

Bowling: Mpofu 8-1-32-0; Ireland 10-0-53-3 (3w); Chigumbura 5-0-26-1 (3w); Utseya 10-1-33-0; Brent 7-0-27-1 (1w); Dabengwa 5-0-23-1; Williams 5-0-30-0


T Duffin st Mushfiqur b Razzak 37

V Sibanda c Habibul b Sharif 64

H Masakadza c Baisya b Saqibul 6

S C Williams run out 8

†B R M Taylor run out 13

E Chigumbura c Aftab b Mortaza 33

K M Dabengwa b Baisya 18

G B Brent run out 7

*P Utseya c Aftab b Baisya 0

C B Mpofu run out 3

A J Ireland not out 1

Extras (lb5, w12, nb7) 24

Total (all out, 49.4 overs) 214

Fall: 1-91, 2-115, 3-124, 4-140, 5-149, 6-202, 7-204, 8-206, 9-210

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 10-1-32-1 (2w); Tapash Baisya 10-0-50-2 (2w); Mohammad Sharif 9.5-0-53-1 (7nb); Abdur Razzak 9.4-0-44-1 (7w); Saqibul Hasan 10-0-29-1 (1w); Aftab Ahmed 0.1-0-1-0

Result: Bangladesh won by 14 runs

Series: Bangladesh lead the 4-match series 2-1

ODI debut: Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)

Umpires: K C Barbour and A M Saheba (India). TV umpire: I D Robinson. Match referee: C J Mitchley (South Africa)

Previous matches: February 4 1st ODI Harare, Bangladesh won by 45 runs. February 6 2nd ODI Harare, Zimbabwe won by 8 wickets

Fourth & final ODI: Saturday (today), Harare
Source:The News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Saturday, February 10th, 2007 and is filed under General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Ponting blames batting for defeat »
Next Post: Shoaib, Asif risking life bans, says expert »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.