IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe by 45 runs in first one-dayer


Zimbabwe crashed to their 13th successive One-day International (ODI) defeat when they lost by 45 runs to Bangladesh in the opening game of a four-match series at the Harare Sports Club here on Sunday.

Set 261 to win, the home side slumped to 215 all out.

Chaminurwa Chibhabha top scored with 57, while Vusi Sibanda made 46, but their partnership of 72 from 132 balls was made at a painfully slow rate and put the home side well behind the required rate.

Chibhabha made his runs off 116 deliveries, fewer than a run every two balls; Sibanda needed 80 deliveries. To make matters worse, the duo failed to find the boundary in 28 overs.

Hopes were raised with eight overs left when Elton Chigumbura went into bat, with Zimbabwe needing well over 10 an over. He hit the Bangladeshi attack for four sixes but was bowled out for 47 after facing just 26 balls.

It was captain Habibul Bashar who set up the Bangladesh innings in the first place with 78 off 87 balls assisted by Aftab al Hasan with 68. They put on 105 for the fourth wicket, enabling Bangladesh to post a good score and as it turned out the foundation for victory.


Zimbabwe won toss


Shahriar Nafees run out 34

Mehrab Hossain jnr c Masakadza b Ireland 12

Aftab Ahmed c Masakadza b Chigumbura 31

Saqibul Hasan c Williams b Brent 68

*Habibul Bashar c Chigumbura b Ireland 78

Mohammad Ashraful c Mufambisi b Mpofu 22

Mohammad Rafique b Ireland 3

Mashrafe Mortaza c Brent b Mpofu 1

†Mushfiqur Rahim run out 1

Abdur Razzak not out 1

Shahadat Hossain not out 0

Extras (lb2, w6, nb1) 9

Total (9 wkts, 50 overs) 260

Fall: 1-34, 2-68, 3-93, 4-198, 5-248, 6-255, 7-256, 8-258, 9-260

Bowling: Mpofu 8-0-39-2; Ireland 10-1-41-3; Chigumbura 10-0-58-1; Brent 9-1-44-1; Utseya 10-0-51-0; Williams 3-0-25-0


T Duffin b Shahadat 2

V Sibanda b Saqibul 46

C J Chibhabha c Mushfiqur b Rafique 57

H Masakadza c Mushfiqur b Mortaza 31

S C Williams c Mushfiqur b Mortaza 2

†T V Mufambisi c Mushfiqur b Mortaza 2

E Chigumbura b Mortaza 47

G B Brent run out 2

*P Utseya c & b Razzak 6

C B Mpofu c Mortaza b Razzak 4

A J Ireland not out 0

Extras (lb3, w9, nb4) 16

Total (all out, 48 overs) 215

Fall: 1-10, 2-82, 3-142, 4-149, 5-151, 6-165, 7-187, 8-206, 9-211

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 9-0-31-4; Shahadat Hossain 8-0-48-1; Abdur Razzak 10-1-44-2; Mohammad Rafique 9-0-34-1; Saqibul Hasan 10-0-40-1; Mehrab Hossain jnr 2-0-15-0

Result: Bangladesh won by 45 runs

Series: Bangladesh lead the 4-match series 1-0

Umpires: A M Saheba (India) and R B Tiffin. Match referee: C J Mitchley (South Africa)

Remaining matches: Tuesday (tomorrow) 2nd ODI, Harare. February 9 3rd ODI, Harare. February 10 4th ODI, Harare
Source:The News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Monday, February 5th, 2007 and is filed under General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Ponting, Hodge steer Aussies to victory over New Zealand »
Next Post: Tharanga relishes opening with Jayasuriya »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.