IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Australian stars sign with IPL


Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden are among an extensive list of Australia’s frontline players who have signed with the Indian Premier League, according to a report in the Sunday Age. The paper said the BCCI had outlaid more than $2 million to secure the stars for the Twenty20 tournament.

Andrew Symonds, Brett Lee, Nathan Bracken, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin and Mitchell Johnson were also reportedly on the list. The IPL has already attracted Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath, with Simon Katich and Jason Gillespie also set to play.

The paper reported that Neil Maxwell, a player agent, will hand the groups’s IPL contracts to Lalit Modi, the BCCI vice-president, in Dubai on Sunday. Next year’s tournament is likely to take place in April, meaning several of the Australian-contracted players might be unavailable as the team will tour Pakistan and West Indies around that time.

Source:Cricket News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Monday, October 29th, 2007 and is filed under Cricket, General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Siddons accepts Bangladesh job »
Next Post: I am mentally stronger than most, says Muralitharan »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.