ICL: Indian Cricket League

Australia to tour Pakistan in 2009 and 2010


Australia will fulfill their commitment to tour Pakistan by touring there twice in two years, a joint statement from both boards said. The two legs will straddle the return series hosted by Australia in late 2009.

As expected, the five one-dayers and a Twenty20 will be played in the first leg, and this will be next year following Australia’s commitments in South Africa. Australia will then return to Pakistan in August 2010 to play three Tests, with final dates and venues to be agreed depending on each nation’s Future Tours Program (FTP) obligations. It was their FTP obligations which forced the tour to be split into two sections.

That means those currently playing in the IPL may be forced to miss the competition because of international commitments. “Playing (in Pakistan) probably inhibits players playing in the IPL (next year),” CA operations manager Michael Brown told the Sydney Morning Herald. “Under their contracts players have to make themselves available to play for Australia and so far we have not had any problems.”

Australia, who haven’t toured Pakistan since 1998-99, were originally scheduled to go to Pakistan in March, but postponed the trip due to security concerns.

PCB’s chairman Dr. Nasim Ashraf said: “Although disappointed that the tour couldn’t be completed as originally scheduled, the PCB is very pleased that the Australian team will come to play in Pakistan twice. Our discussions with Cricket Australia showed both countries’ strong desire to ensure the postponed matches were played in Pakistan”

“Today’s announcement demonstrates Cricket Australia’s commitment to fulfilling its obligations under the Future Tours Program and also to Pakistan cricket,” Cricket Australia Chairman, Creagh O’Connor, said. “We’re pleased to have reached agreement to travel to Pakistan to complete the postponed matches and to play in them in Australia as agreed under the FTP.”

The PCB has also confirmed its FTP tour to Australia at the end of 2009 for three Tests, five ODIs and a Twenty20.

Source:Cricket News

More on:, , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Wednesday, April 23rd, 2008 and is filed under General, Cricket.

Tagged with: , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Watson and Warne sparkle in Rajasthan victory »
Next Post: It’s safety first on tour of Pakistan, say New Zealand »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.