IPL: Indian Premier League 2009

Australia down determined NZ to reach maiden final


Glenn McGrath produced a masterly early spell to help world champions Australia beat a fighting New Zealand by 34 runs on Wednesday and reach their maiden Champions Trophy final.

McGrath grabbed three quick wickets as New Zealand were reduced to 35-6 on a lively pitch in reply to Australia’s 240-9. Daniel Vettori struck a superb 79 batting at number eight to almost help the Kiwis pull off an incredible victory before they were dismissed for 206 in 46 overs. Vettori put on a record 103-run seventh-wicket partnership with Jacob Oram (43) as New Zealand fought until the end.

McGrath conceded just 22 runs to remove opener Lou Vincent (1), Hamish Marshall (5) and bowled Peter Fulton (2). Brett Lee backed him up by bowling the experienced Nathan Astle for a fourth ball duck and left-armer Nathan Bracken had Stephen Fleming edge a drive to Ricky Ponting at second slip for 15.

Vettori almost made Australia pay after Mike Hussey at first slip dropped him on five against Bracken, going on to make his third fifty. Andrew Symonds had Oram stumped before Vettori was bowled off his pads trying to make room for a heave. Symonds and Australian skipper Ponting had earlier hit 58 apiece after paceman Kyle Mills removed openers Shane Watson (0) and Adam Gilchrist (3) in one over to make it 4 for 2.

Ponting struck his second successive fifty and added 66 with Damien Martyn (26) for the third wicket and 53 for the fourth with Mike Hussey (35). Symonds then put on 65 with Hussey.


New Zealand won toss


†A C Gilchrist c Oram b Mills 3

S R Watson c Fulton b Mills 0

*R T Ponting c Vettori b Mills 58

D R Martyn lbw b Vettori 26

M E K Hussey c Marshall b Franklin 35

A Symonds b Bond 58

M J Clarke c Vettori b Mills 14

B Lee b Bond 5

M G Johnson run out (Bond) 3

N W Bracken not out 15

G D McGrath not out 0

Extras (lb6, w14, nb3) 23

Total (9 wkts, 50 overs) 240

Fall: 1-3, 2-4, 3-70, 4-123, 5-188, 6-211, 7-220, 8-223, 9-236

Bowling: Mills 10-1-38-4 (1w); Bond 10-0-55-2 (6w); Franklin 8-1-48-1 (2nb, 2w); Oram 10-1-43-0 (1nb); Vettori 10-0-41-1; Astle 2-0-9-0

New Zealand

L Vincent c Ponting b McGrath 1

*S P Fleming c Ponting b Bracken 15

N J Astle b Lee 0

H J H Marshall c Gilchrist b McGrath 5

P G Fulton b McGrath 2

J D P Oram st Gilchrist b Symonds 43

†B B McCullum c Martyn b Bracken 1

D L Vettori b Johnson 79

J E C Franklin c Gilchrist b Watson 8

K D Mills c Gilchrist b Lee 21

S E Bond not out 9

Extras (lb7, w13, nb2) 22

Total (all out, 46 overs) 206

Fall: 1-16, 2-20, 3-30, 4-30, 5-34, 6-35, 7-138, 8-159, 9-180

Bowling: Lee 8-0-31-2 (1nb, 5w); McGrath 10-2-22-3 (2w); Bracken 7-1-36-2 (3w); Johnson 7-0-38-1 (1nb, 2w); Watson 7-0-27-1; Symonds 7-0-45-1

Result: Australia won by 34 runs

Series: Australia advance to final

Man of the Match: Glenn McGrath

Umpires: S A Bucknor (West Indies) and R E Koertzen (South Africa). TV umpire: M R Benson (England). Match referee: M J Procter (South Africa)

Thursday, November 2

South Africa v West Indies (Jaipur) 2nd Semifinal

Match starts at 2.00pm

Pakistan Standard Time
Source:The News

No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Share on Twitter | StumbleUpon | Del.icio.us | Digg | Facebook

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 and is filed under General.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Tribunal faces dilemma as Asif-Shoaib verdict nears »
Next Post: Pakistan cricket hits new low »

Read More

Related Reading:

Subscribe without commenting

Leave a Reply

Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.