ICL: Indian Cricket League

Atapattu, Chandana recalled for Bangladesh


Marvan Atapattu, the former Sri Lankan captain, and all-rounder Upul Chandana have earned recalls to the Test and one-day sides respectively for a three-of-each home series against Bangladesh later this month.

Uncapped left-hand batsman Malinda Warnapura and left-arm pace bowler Sujeewa de Silva have also been included in the 15-man Test side.

Atapattu makes a return to the Test side after 18 months. He last played against India at Ahmedabad in December 2005 before a recurring back injury saw him undergo surgery and miss out on a long spell of international cricket. Atapattu replaces Sanath Jayasuriya, rested for the Test series but included in the one-day squad.

Chandana, 35, gets a national recall after two years during which period his place has been occupied by another leg-spinner, Malinga Bandara, who has also been named in the one-day squad.

Warnapura, 27, has been in fine form for Sri Lanka A, the highlight of which was a career -best double century against Bangladesh A last month. De Silva has also shown good form with the ball in the recently concluded domestic season with 44 wickets at just 19.77 to help Colombo Cricket Club lift the Premier League title.

Prasanna Jayawardene will continue to keep wickets in the Tests providing Kumar Sangakkara the opportunity to concentrate on his batting at No 3.

Sangakkara, Muralitharan and Chaminda Vaas are presently in England playing county cricket. Vaas and Muralitharan will play only in the Test series before going back to their counties.

Jehan Mubarak and Chamara Kapugedera, who are expected to tour to England with Sri Lanka A have been named for the one-day series against Bangladesh. Selection committee sources said that both players will be recalled from the England tour when the one-day series commences on July 18.

Mahela Jayawardene retains the captaincy with Sangakkara as his deputy and Sriyan Samaratne, a former Air Force cricketer and administrator, has been named manager of the Sri Lanka team. He takes over from Michael Tissera, who quit at the end of his contract last month.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Upul Tharanga, Marvan Atapattu, Kumar Sangakkara, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Prasanna Jayawardene (wicket-keeper), Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Malinga Bandara, Malinda Warnapura, Sujeewa de Silva.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wicket-keeper), Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Jehan Mubarak, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Farveez Maharoof, Upul Chandana, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Kapugedera, Malinga Bandara, Nuwan Kulasekera.

More on:, , , , , ,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 14th, 2007 and is filed under Cricket, Cricket Stars.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Glenn McGrath : A Standard »
Next Post: Lara hints at returning in six to eight months »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.