ICL: Indian Cricket League

Asian countries to stage 2011 Cricket World Cup


Asia have beaten a joint bid from Australia and New Zealand for the right to host the 2011 Cricket World Cup. The decision to award the event to Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh was made by the International Cricket Council (ICC) Executive Committee meeting here on Sunday.

The Asian bid won by ten votes to three. As a result of Sunday’s vote the ICC have awarded the 2015 World Cup to runners-up Australia and New Zealand, with England staging the 2019 competition.

Lalit Modi, Vice-President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), said much now needed to be done to get the continent ready to host the cricketing showcase. “We did a great job, the four countries put together an impressive presentation and we got 10 out of 13 votes. We are looking forward to it. A lot of work has to go in. A lot of infrastructure needs to be put in place. We are mentally geared up for it. We will do the task at hand,” he said.

Former BCCI boss Raj Singh Dungarpur said giving the event to Asia would mean a great deal to millions of cricket fans. “The whole decision process was cordial and that’s how the noble game of cricket should be played on and off the field. It will bring joy to millions and millions of Asians,” he remarked.

The Asian bid had been weakened by a late submission, the four countries having been granted an extension to April 21 to present their case to the ICC after failing to meet the first deadline in March.

Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Shaharyar Khan, said: “We are delighted to have been asked to host the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, it is a tremendous honour. The submissions process has been eye opening for all of us. I don’t think we fully appreciated the volume of work that was required to produce a compliant submission and we are grateful to the ICC Board for allowing us extra time to complete this process.

“The rigour of the submissions process means we already have a good understanding of what we have to do over the next five years to be ready for the event,” he added. The Bangladesh representative Mohammad Ali Asghar MP said: “This is fantastic news and is a big progression for Bangladesh, especially as we have also secured an ICC Event in 2014.

“The matches in our country will definitely keep up Bangladesh’s development in world cricket and we congratulate the ICC for giving us this chance. We will ensure we have all the support necessary from our government to make these events successful.”

Chairman Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), Jayantha Dharmadasa, said: “It is difficult to find the words to express how delighted I am with this news. All of Sri Lanka, from the President down, will be thrilled with what has happened and with the problems in the country at the moment this is a very positive thing.”

Reflecting on the decision over the 2011 tournament, the ICC President Ehsan Mani said: “On behalf of the ICC I congratulate the four Asian members on earning the right to host the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. Since turning up at the ICC Board meeting in March with an unviable submission they have worked hard to satisfy the strict hosting criteria set by the ICC.

“That a compliant submission was produced ahead of the final deadline earlier this month is testament to the capacity of these four countries to work together. “We can now prepare with confidence for what promises to be the biggest occasion that cricket fans in Asia and around the world will ever have seen,” Mani expressed.

Source: The News

More on:, ,

Technorati Tags: Asia, Australia, New Zealand, World Cup, ICC

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: PCB to raise case of Shabbir after Sarfraz finishes remedial work »
Next Post: Pakistan awarded hosting rights of 2008 Champions Trophy »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.