ICL: Indian Cricket League

ABN Amro Twenty20 Cup 2006

Written by Kashif Aziz on December 22nd, 2006   (6,763 views)

ABN Amro Twenty20 Cup 2006The ABN Amro Twenty20 Cup 2006/2007 started from December 21, 2006 in Karachi.

National stars, representing 13 regional teams, will fight for top honours in the six-day event. Faisalabad Wolves won the inaugural Twenty20 Cup played in Lahore while Sialkot Stallions beat defending champions Faisalabad Wolves in the final of second Twenty20 Cup played in February-March this year in Karachi.

This year the pool matches have been reduced and the event is designed in a way to see all the senior cricketers in action in total 18 matches. The teams have been divided into four groups. After the round robin league matches, one top team from each group will progress to the semi-finals which will be played at the National Stadium Karachi on December 25 while the final will be contested on December 26. The matches at the National Cricket Stadium Karachi will be held under floodlights while the ties at the NBP Stadium, UBL Ground and Asghar Ali Shah Stadium will be day matches.

Star-studded defending champions Sialkot Stallions have services of Imran Nazir, Shoaib Malik, Rana Navedul Hasan, Mohammad Asif and Abdur Rehman. Last championship’s runners-up Faisalabad Wolves have Mohammad Hafeez, Misbahul Haq, Ejaz Ahmad Junior, Shahid Nazir and Samiullah Khan Niazi. Inzamamul Haq will lead Multan Tigers and Younis Khan will skipper Peshawar Panthers. Imran Farhat and Salman Butt are top players for Lahore Eagles while Mohammad Yousuf will lead Lahore Lions. Shahid Afridi will lead Karachi Dolphins and Shoaib Akhtar will be the captain of Islamabad Leopards.

The winners of the championship will pick up a handsome amount of Rs 10,00,000 while runners-up will pocket Rs 500,000. The winners of each group match will receive Rs 15,000 and the losers Rs 10,000. The winners of the semi-final will get Rs 20,000 and the losers Rs 15,000 each. Man of the match in the final, man of the tournament, best batsman, best bowler, best wicket-keeper and best fielder will grab Rs 25,000 each.


Group A: Faisalabad Wolves, Karachi Dolphins, Lahore Eagles, Abbotabad Rhinos

Group B: Sialkot Stallions, Hyderabad Hawks, Karachi Zebras

Group C: Peshawar Panthers, Multan Tigers, Islamabad Leopards

Group D: Lahore Lions, Rawapindi Rams, Quetta Bears.


Sialkot Stallions:

Imran Nazir (captain), Atiqur Rehman, Shoaib Malik, Mansoor Amjad, Qaiser Abbas, Shahid Yousaf, Shehzad Malik, Mohammad Ayub, Hafiz Khalid Mehmood, Sarfaraz Ahmad, Tahir Mughal, Rana Navedul Hasan, Mohammad Asif, Abdur Rehman and Kashif Daud.

Faisalabad Wolves:

Misbahul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Ali, Asif Hussain, Naved Latif, Usman Arshad, Ijaz Ahmed Jnior, Mohammad Zahid, Mohammad Salman, Shahid Nazir, Samiullah Niazi, Asad Ali, Ahmed Hayat, Saeed Ajmal and Imran Khalid.

Karachi Zebras: Hasan Raza (captain), Asif Zakir, Khurram Manzoor, Agha Sabir, Saeed Bin Nasir, Asim Kamal, Afsar Nawaz, Faisal Iqbal, Aminur Rehman, Danish Kaneria, Malik Aftab, Tanveer Ahmad, Rajesh Ramesh, Tahir Khan and Nauman Alvi.

Multan Tigers:

Inzamamul Haq (captain), Saeed Anwar Junior, Usman Tariq, Aamir Bashir, Naveed Ahmed, Kashif Naveed, Bilal Khilji, Kamran Hussain, Ateeq Ahmed, Shabbir Ahmad, Abdul Rauf, Mohammad Irshad, Azharullah, Azhar Shafiq and Qaisar Shahzad.

Lahore Lions:

Mohammad Yousuf (captain), Kashif Siddique, Shahnawaz Malik, Rashid Riaz, Rizwan Ahmed, Adnan Raza, Nasir Jamshed, Zulqarnain Haider, Wasim Khan, Wahab Riaz, Salman Qadir, Imran Ali, Kamram Akmal, Waqas Ahmed and Taufeeq Umar.

Peshawar Panthers: Younis Khan (captain), Wajahatullah Wasti, Akhtar Sarfraz, Aftab Alam, Yasir Hameed, Zulfiqar Jan, Rafatullah Mahmand, Riaz Afridi, Mohammad Fayyaz, Arshad Khan, Fazl-e-Akbar, Waqar Ahmad, Mohammad Aslam, Umar Gul and Shoaib Khan.

Karachi Dolphins: Shahid Khan Afridi (captain), Naumanullah, Mohammad Hasnain, Shadab Kabir, Khalid Latif, Waseem Naeem, Fahad Iqbal, Fawad Alam, Ali Jawad, Sarfraz Ahmed, Rizwan Saeed, Faraz Ahmed Khan, Mohammad Sami, Anwar Ali and Irfanuddin.

Abbottabad Rhinos: Sajid Shah (captain) Adnan Raees, Ahmad Said, Amjad Waqas, Dilawar Khan, Mohammad Siddiq, Hammad Ali, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Bilal, Mohammad Naeem, Nasir Jalil, Riaz Kail, Sajid Rasheed, Wajid Ali and Zafar Jadoon.

Hyderabad Hawks: Faisal Athar (captain), Aqeel Anjum, Farhan Ayub, Ghulam Murtaza, Hanif Malik, Hanifur Rehman, Lal Kumar, Naeemur Rehman, Nasir Awais, Nauman Ali, Rizwan Ahmad, Shahid Qambrani, Shoaib Laghari, Sufyan Munir and Taj Wasan.

Islamabad Leopards: Shoaib Akhtar (captain), Afaq Raheem, Ashar Zaidi, Atif Ashraf, Azhar Mahmood, Bazid Khan, Bilal Asad, Fakhar Hussain, Iftikhar Anjum, Imad Wasim, Naeem Anjum, Raheel Majeed, Rauf Akbar, Saad Altaf, and Zohaib Ahmad.

Lahore Eagles: Abdul Razzaq (captain), Aamer Sajjad, Arsalan Mir, Ashfaq Ahmad, Fahad Masood, Humayun Farhat, Imran Farhat, Jahangir Mirza, Junaid Zia, Khaqan Arsal, Mohammad Jamshed, Mohammad Khalil, Salman Butt, Sohail Ahmad and Usman Malik.

Quetta Bears: Faisal Irfan (captain), Abdul Hameed, Arun Lal, Gauhar Faiz, Hameedullah Khan, Jalat Khan, Manzoor Ahmad, Mohammad Alam, Naseer Khan, Nasim Khan, Sabir Hussain, Umar Javed, Shaukat Ali, Shoaib Khan and Yasir Majeed.

Rawalpindi Rams: Mohammad Wasim (captain), Akhtar Ayub, Babar Naeem, Nadeem Sikander, Najaf Shah, Naved Ashraf, Naved Malik, Pervez Aziz, Rizwan Akbar, Sajid Mahmood, Sohail Tanvir, Tahir Rauf, Usman Saeed, Yasim Murtaza and Yasir Arafat.

Prize Money:

Group Matches & Semi Finals

Winner Team Group Matches Rs. 15,000/-
Loser Team of Group Matches Rs. 10,000/-
Man of the Match Rs. 10,000/-
Winner Team (Semi Finals) Rs. 20,000/-
Loser Team (Semi Final) Rs. 15,000/-


Winner Rs. 1,000,000/-
Runner Up Rs. 500,000/-
Man of the Match Rs. 25,000/-
Best Batsman Rs. 25,000/-
Best Bowler Rs. 25,000/-
Best Fielder Rs. 25,000/-
Best Wicket-keeper Rs. 25,000/-

Source: Daily Times and PCB

More on:,

Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A Trackback.

Post Info

This entry was posted on Friday, December 22nd, 2006 and is filed under General.

Tagged with: ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the Comments Feed. You can Leave A Comment, or A Trackback.

Previous Post: Harmison quits one-day cricket, Vaughan recalled »
Next Post: Shane Warne rates Tendulkar and Lara toughest opponents »

Read More

Related Reading:

    Subscribe without commenting

    Leave a Reply

    Note: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.