February 19, 2006


So, the last match of the Hutch Cup ended today and Pakistan lost it by 8 wickets, loosing the series 4-1. Pakistan got a reasonable start today and it seemed that 300 runs could be piled on board but the middle order fumbled and inspite of good knocks of 67 by Yousuf and 74 by Younis, Pakistan made 287 only, an achievable total at National Stadium, Karachi. Inzamam, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Razzak all failed to stand on the wicket. Inzamam, the senior most player in the team, got out repeatedly playing in cross.

Pakistan seeks consolation win

Osman Samiuddin writes on the atmosphere before the final one day international and the pressure felt by Pakistan team in general and Inzamam in particular.

Much of the pressure, for Inzamam at least, has come from the electronic media with a plethora of ex-players and coaches questioning, in particular, the Pakistan batting order. Three top-order collapses in Rawalpindi (68 for four), Lahore (82 for four) and Multan (29 for four) have effectively sealed the home side’s fate. The criticism has centred on using Kamran Akmal as opener and Shoaib Malik at one-down and pushing the established trinity of Inzamam, Mohammad Yousuf and Younis Khan, lower down. As nonchalantly as he does to some bowlers, Inzamam swatted this away.

CricketViewer Heat Map

Abdul Razzaq Abdur Razzak ABN AMRO ABN AMRO Cup ABN AMRO National One Day Championship ABN AMRO Twenty20 Cup Abu Dhabi ADCC Afghanistan Alastair Cook Andrew Flintoff Andrew Strauss Anil Kumblee Ashley Giles Australia Bangladesh BBC BCCI Bob Woolmer Chaminda Vaas Chittagong Chris Broad Colombo Cricket Daniel Vettori Danish Kaneria Deaf Series Derbyshire Dhoni Doosra england England in India 2006 England in India 2006 Essex Faisal Iqbal faisalabad FICA FTP Geo TV george bush Glenn McGrath Greg Chappell Herschelle Gibbs Ian Blackwell icc Imran Farhat Imran Khan India India in Pakistan 2006 Inzamam Inzaman Inzoolmer Ireland Irfan Pathan James Anderson javed miandad Jonty Rhodes Kamran Akmal Karachi KCCA Kenya Kevin Pietersen Kevin Pieterson Kolkata Kookaburra Kumar Sangakkara Lahore Marcus Trescothick Marvan Atapattu Matthew Hayden Matthew Hoggard Matthew Sinclair MCC Michael Vaughan Mike Gatting Mohali Mohammad Irshad Mohammad Sami Mohammad Yousuf Mohammad Yusuf monty panesar Mudassar Nazar Muhammad Asif Muhammad Hafeez Muhammad Yousuf Multan Mumbai Munaf Patel Muralitharan Muttiah Muralitharan Nathan Astle National Stadium NCA New Zealand Pakistan Pakistan in England 2006 Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2006 Paul Collingwood PCB Pentagular League Cricket Peshawar Peshwar PTV racism Rahul Dravid Ramesh Powar Rana Naveed Ranji Trophy Ricky Ponting RP Singh Sachin Tendulkar Salman Butt Sanath Jayasuriya Saqlain Mushtaq Saurav Ganguly Shahid Afridi shane warne Shaun Udal Shoaib Akhtar Shoaib Malik Shoaib Mohammad Sialkot Simon Jones Sourav Ganguly South Africa Sri Lanka Supersub Tahir Khan Ten Sports Terrence Duffin Tom Moody Trevor Penny Twenty20 Twenty20 World Championship Twenty20 World Cup UBL Under 19 World Cup VB Series Virendar Sehwag VVS Laxman Waqar Younis Wasim Akram Wasim Bari West Indies World Cup Yorkshire Younis Khan Zaheer Abbas Zaheer Khan zimbabwe