February 2, 2006

Chappell ignites Shoaib action debate

by — Kashif Aziz

With India loosing the test series 1-0, it was expected that they are going to retaliate on non-issues. Surprisingly, the assault came from their coach, Greg Chappel, and the target is none other than Shoaib Akhtar.

“There is something seriously different about it [Shoaib’s action],” Reuters has quoted Chappell as saying to India’s 24-hour television channel Times Now. His comments came after Sachin Tendulkar and Anil Kumble were hit on the helmet by rising Shoaib deliveries in the ongoing third and final Test at Karachi. Chappell added that India could do without its players being hit like that.

Technorati Tags: Shoaib Akhtar

CricketViewer Heat Map

Abdul Razzaq Abdur Razzak ABN AMRO ABN AMRO Cup ABN AMRO National One Day Championship ABN AMRO Twenty20 Cup Abu Dhabi Adam Gilchrist ADCC Afghanistan Alastair Cook Andrew Flintoff Andrew Strauss Anil Kumblee Ashes Ashley Giles Australia Bangladesh BBC BCCI Bob Woolmer Brian Lara Canada Chaminda Vaas Champions Trophy Chanderpaul Chittagong Colombo Cricket Danish Kaneria Deaf Series Dhoni Doosra Englan in India 2006 england England in India 2006 England in India 2006 Essex Faisal Iqbal faisalabad george bush Glenn McGrath Greg Chappell Herschelle Gibbs Ian Blackwell icc Imran Farhat Imran Khan India India in Pakistan 2006 Inzamam Inzaman Inzoolmer Ireland Irfan Pathan James Anderson javed miandad Jonty Rhodes Kamran Akmal Kandy Karachi KCCA Kenya Kevin Pietersen Kevin Pieterson Kolkata Kookaburra Lahore Leicestershire Marcus Trescothick Marvan Atapattu Matthew Hoggard MCC Michael Vaughan Mike Gatting Mohali Mohammad Asif Mohammad Irshad Mohammad Sami Mohammad Yousuf Mohammad Yusuf monty panesar Mudassar Nazar Muhammad Asif Muhammad Hafeez Muhammad Yousuf Multan Mumbai Munaf Patel Muralitharan Muttiah Muralitharan National Stadium NCA New Zealand Pakistan Pakistan in England 2006 Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2006 Paul Collingwood PCB Pentagular League Cricket Peshawar Peshwar PSCB PTV racism Rahul Dravid Ramesh Powar Rana Naveed Ranji Trophy Ricky Ponting RP Singh Sachin Tendulkar Saleem Altaf Salman Butt Saqlain Mushtaq Saurav Ganguly Shahid Afridi shane warne Shaun Udal Shoaib Akhtar Shoaib Malik Shoaib Mohammad Sialkot Simon Jones Sourav Ganguly South Africa Sri Lanka Supersub Tahir Khan Ten Sports Terrence Duffin Twenty20 Twenty20 World Championship Twenty20 World Cup UAE Under 19 World Cup VB Series Virendar Sehwag VVS Laxman Waqar Younis Wasim Akram Wasim Bari West Indies WICB World Cup Yorkshire Younis Khan Zaheer Abbas Zaheer Khan zimbabwe